Bob Dylan Good As I Been To You

Q: Included in Q's list of the 50 Best Albums Of 1992.
Good As I Been To You
Get email alerts for Bob Dylan
53 ratings
SUPER SAVINGS: $6.50 Limited Time Only
List Price: $6.98
You Save: $0.80 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  34VQ3
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 1/7/93, p.45
4 Stars (out of 5) - "...proves once again that Dylan can still be every bit as good as he's been to us in the past. Which is, of course, as good as it gets....a passionate piece of work..."
Entertainment Weekly - 11/13/92, p.76
"...All you'll hear throughout this stunningly humble offering are an acoustic guitar, a spare harmonica, and one singularly raspy, nasally voice. Listen hard enough, though, and you might just feel the spirit of Woody Guthrie hovering overhead as well..." - Rating: A
Q - 1/93, p.70
Included in Q's list of the 50 Best Albums Of 1992.
Q - 12/92, p.116
4 Stars (out of 5) - "...Dylan will not only tempt many lapsed fans back into the fold but give everyone who has held a candle for the old buzzard cause for rejoice....he plays guitar with a sweetly eloquent dexterity not heard since 1963..."
Vox (12/92, p.66) - 8 - Very Good - "...[an] undeniably appealing album....To hear Dylan in all his solo glory is to hear the solo tradition re-emerge....This is Bob Dylan, sounding weary at journey's end, but enriched, invigorated by the past, and ready to face a new beginning..."


  • 1.Frankie & Albert
  • 2.Jim Jones
  • 3.Blackjack Davey
  • 4.Canadee-I-O
  • 5.Sittin' On Top Of The World
  • 6.Little Maggie
  • 7.Hard Times
  • 8.Step It Up And Go
  • 9.Tomorrow Night
  • 10.Arthur McBride
  • 11.You're Gonna Quit Me
  • 12.Diamond Joe
  • 13.Froggie Went A Courtin'

Product Description:

GOOD AS I BEEN TO YOU, recorded live in the studio in one take, is Bob Dylan's first solo-acoustic release since 1965.
Solo performer: Bob Dylan (vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica).
This 1992 release was Dylan's first solo acoustic release since his early-'60s folkie period. By the early '90s, the archetypal song poet had gone down so many wrong compositional roads he rightly decided it was time to take a break from songwriting. While time would prove him right (his next album of original material was 1997's sublime TIME OUT OF MIND), even he probably didn't bank on GOOD AS I BEEN TO YOU turning out to be such a gem. Focusing on traditional folk songs like "Blackjack Davey," the wry "Arthur McBride" and even the musty old chestnut "Froggie Went A Courtin'," Dylan reinvents his Guthrie-derived '60s folk style, using the age and wisdom inherent in his raspy voice to invest these songs with new life. GOOD AS I BEEN TO YOU turned out to be such a good idea, Zimmy followed it with the similar (but even better) WORLD GONE WRONG.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 66,419
  • UPC: 886972398327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)