Mose Allison Lessons In Living

Get email alerts for Mose Allison
4 ratings
SALE: $8.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $3.99 (31% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6536
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Elecktra 60237 (1983)

Description by

Originally released by Elektra in 1982, Lessons in Living is a fantastic live recording that boasts Allison's gift for songwriting as well as an all-star lineup. Allison is joined by such greats as Jack Bruce on bass, Billy Cobham on drums, and Eric Gale on guitar. Standouts include Allison's own songs "Your Mind is on Vacation", "I Don't Worry About a Thing", as well as his beautiful rendition of "You Are My Sunshine."


  • 1.Lost Mind
  • 2.Wild Man On The Loose
  • 3.Your Mind Is On Vacation
  • 4.You Are My Sunshine
  • 5.Seventh Son
  • 6.Everybody Is Cryin' Mercy
  • 7.Middle Class White Boy
  • 8.I Don't Worry About A Thing
  • 9.Night Club

Product Description:

Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, piano); Lou Donaldson (alto saxophone); Eric Gale (guitar); Jack Bruce (bass); Billy Cobham (drums).
Recorded live at the Montreux Jazz Festival, Montreux, Switzerland, in 1982. Includes liner notes by Mose Allison.
Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, piano); Eric Gale (guitar); Lou Donaldson (saxophone); Jack Bruce (bass guitar); Billy Cobham (drums).
Though Allison was joined in this 1982 Montreux Jazz Festival performance by jazz-rockers Jack Bruce and Billy Cobham, this is certainly no fusion outing. Bruce and Cobham are known for their extrovert musical styles, but they remain properly respectful of the Allison tradition, which brooks no rock & roll and abhors a backbeat. The energy of the rhythm section and the excitement of the festival crowd add a sense of urgency to the proceedings.
The tracks cover Allison's long career, hitting such milestones as "Your Mind is on Vacation" and his moody deconstruction of "You are My Sunshine," as well as lesser-known tunes from his latter-day songbook such as "Middle Class White Boy" and "Night Club". This high-energy recording stands toe to toe with any other live Allison album available.
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 48,343
  • UPC: 090431653623
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)