Mose Allison Middle Class White Boy

Q: 3 Stars - Good - "...Hurrah for this re-issue from 1982..."
Get email alerts for Mose Allison
Price: $14
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $0.98 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  V527
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 17, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Elektra 60125 (1982)

Description by

Middle Class White Boy perfectly demonstrates the unique mixture of pop and country-blues that made Mose Allison famous. Originally released by Elektra in 1982, this album features both original tracks by Allison, as well as covers of some jazz standards, such as Duke Ellington's "I'm Just A Lucky So-And-So." Allison is backed up by such greats as Joe Fareel on tenor sax and flute, and Phil Upchurch on guitar.


  • 1.How Does It Feel? (To Be Good Looking)
  • 2.Rollin Stone
  • 3.I Dont Want Much
  • 4.Middle Class White Boy
  • 5.When My Dreamboat Comes Home
  • 6.Im Nobody Today
  • 7.Im Just A Lucky So - and - So
  • 8.Back Down South
  • 9.The Tennessee Waltz
  • 10.Hello There, Universe
  • 11.Kiddin On The Square

Product Description:

Personnel: Mose Allison (vocals, piano); Lou Donaldson (alto saxophone); Eric Gale (guitar); Jack Bruce (bass); Billy Cobham (drums).
Recorded live at the Montreux Jazz Festival, Montreux, Switzerland, in 1982. Includes liner notes by Mose Allison.
Though Allison was joined in this 1982 Montreux Jazz Festival performance by jazz-rockers Jack Bruce and Billy Cobham, this is certainly no fusion outing. Bruce and Cobham are known for their extrovert musical styles, but they remain properly respectful of the Allison tradition, which brooks no rock & roll and abhors a backbeat. The energy of the rhythm section and the excitement of the festival crowd add a sense of urgency to the proceedings.
The tracks cover Allison's long career, hitting such milestones as "Your Mind is on Vacation" and his moody deconstruction of "You are My Sunshine," as well as lesser-known tunes from his latter-day songbook such as "Middle Class White Boy" and "Night Club". This high-energy recording stands toe to toe with any other live Allison album available.
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 13,973
  • UPC: 090431653524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Saturday: 11am-6pm, Sunday: Closed (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)