With Thelonious Monk / Blues At Carnegie Hall

Get email alerts for Art Blakey
SALE: $10.99
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $3.98 (27% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZSUR 40163
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • On "Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers With Thelonious Monk", personnel are: Art Blakey (drums), Thelonius Monk (piano), Johnny Griffin (tenor sax), Bill Hardman (trumpet), Spanky DeBrest (bass). Originally released in 1958 as Atlantic 1278.
  • "Blues At Carnegie Hall" features John Lewis (piano), Milt Jackson (vibes), Percy Heath (bass), Connie Kay (drums). Recorded during a benefit concert presented by the Manhattan School Of Music at Carnegie Hall, New York City. Originally released in 1967 as Atlantic 1468.
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1278 (1958)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1468 (1967)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Originally released in 1957, "With Thelonious Monk" is one of the rare instances where this legendary pianist recorded as a sideman, sharing billing on the album with Blakey. This album is paired with a blues-based live set from The Modern Jazz Quartet, recorded at a Manhattan School of Music benefit at Carnegie Hall in 1967.


  • 1.Evidence
  • 2.In Walked Bud
  • 3.Blue Monk
  • 4.I Mean You
  • 5.Rhythm-A-Ning
  • 6.Purple Shades
  • 7.Pyramid (Blues For Junior)
  • 8.Cylinder
  • 9.Really True Blues
  • 10.Ralph's New Blues
  • 11.Blues Milanese
  • 12.Bags' Groove

Product Description:

's Jazz Messengers/The Modern Jazz Quartet.
2 LPs on 1 CD: Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers: WITH THELONIOUS MONK (1958)/The Modern Jazz Quartet: BLUES AT CARNEGIE HALL (1967).
Includes liner notes by Martin Williams and Alun Morgan.
Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers: Art Blakey (drums); Johnny Griffin (tenor saxophone); Bill Hardman (trumpet); Spanky DeBrest (bass).
Additional personnel: Thelonious Monk (piano).
Originally released on Atlantic (1278).
The Modern Jazz Quartet: Milt Jackson (vibraphone); John Lewis (piano); Percy Heath (bass); Connie Kay (drums).
Recorded live at Carnegie Hall, New York, New York. Originally released on Atlantic (1468).
Personnel: Spanky DeBrest (trumpet); Johnny Griffin (piano); Thelonious Monk (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Alun Morgan; Martin Williams .
In 1999, Collectables released Jazz Messengers/Blues at Carnegie Hall, which contained two complete albums -- Jazz Messengers by Art Blakey and Thelonious Monk (1958, originally released on Atlantic) and Blues at Carnegie Hall by the Modern Jazz Quartet (1967, originally released on Atlantic) -- on one compact disc. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 16,192
  • UPC: 090431627921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)