Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis Lock The Fox / The Fox & The Hounds

Lock The Fox / The Fox & The Hounds
Get email alerts for Eddie 'Lockjaw' Davis
5 ratings
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $10.99 (65% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 2812
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: RCA LSP-3652 (1966)
  • Original Album #2: RCA LSP-3741 (1967)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Renowned tenor saxophonist Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis honed his jazz chops during stints with the bands of Cootie Williams, Louis Armstrong, and Count Basie. The jazz great Ben Webster is also credited as being Davis' major musical influence. The two albums brought together on this disc were originally recorded for RCA and feature liner notes by Davis himself. Key tracks include "The Days Of Wine and Roses," "People Will Say We're In Love," and "Born To Be Blue."


  • 1.Nina Never Knew
  • 2.Speak Low
  • 3.Midnight Sun
  • 4.On Green Dolphin Street
  • 5.Save Your Love For Me
  • 6.On A Clear Day (You Can See Forever)
  • 7.West Coast Blues
  • 8.Days Of Wine And Roses
  • 9.The Good Life
  • 10.Oh!! Gee!!
  • 11.I Wished On The Moon
  • 12.When Your Lover Has Gone
  • 13.Born To Be Blue
  • 14.People Will Say We're In Love
  • 15.Day By Day
  • 16.Bye Bye Blackbird
  • 17.Call Me
  • 18.This Is Always
  • 19.I Remember You
  • 20.Out Of Nowhere

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: LOCK, THE FOX (1966)/THE FOX & THE HOUNDS (1967).
Personnel: Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis (tenor saxophone); Ross Tomkins (piano); Les Spann (guitar); Russell George (bass); Chuck Lampkin (drums); Ray Barretto (conga drums).
Originally released on RCA (3652) & RCA (3741). Includes liner notes by Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis.
Personnel: Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis (tenor saxophone); Les Spann (electric guitar); Ross Tompkins (piano); Chuck Lampkin (drums); Ray Barretto (congas).
This CD compilation contains the complete contents of two albums made (Lock the Fox and The Fox & the Hounds) by Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis for RCA during the mid-'60s. The first half of the disc finds the tenor saxophonist in superb form as he interacts with Les Spann, Ross Tompkins, Ray Barretto, bassist Russell George, and drummer Chuck Lampkin. Each of the ten pieces is brief and to-the-point with the focus almost exclusively on the leader. The mix is kind of strange, as Tompkins is barely audible much of the time, though any listener will automatically be drawn to the leader's powerful sax. The packaging doesn't do justice to the second part of the disc, as there is no credit given to members of the big band supporting Davis, which includes Ernie Royal, Joe Newman, Thad Jones, Urbie Green, Jimmy Cleveland,J.J. Johnson, Hank Jones, Roland Hanna, and Gene Bertoncini among the rotating cast from two days of recording. Alto saxophonist Bobby Plater, a veteran of Lionel Hampton's band and a comrade of Edison's while both men were working for Count Basie, contributed the arrangements. Once again the tracks are relatively brief, with the spotlight on the leader and the all-stars present relegated to providing rhythm and section work. As a result, this reissue falls short of being an essential acquisition, though it is recommended. ~ Ken Dryden
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 6,771
  • UPC: 090431281222
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)