COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

The Lovin' Spoonful Greatest Hits

Q: 3 stars out of 5 - "...A timely reminder of the amazing diversity and sheer quality of [their] output over 4 studio albums in an amazing 3-year period....exhilarating..."
Greatest Hits
Get email alerts for The Lovin' Spoonful
62 ratings
Price: $8.20
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  32FXG
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 22, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Buddha

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 3/10/00, p.71
"...a generous 26-track compilation, main man John Sebastian's knack for the indelible melody is writ large...and the band's unique folk-country-pop hybrid still sounds astonishingly fresh..." - Rating: A-
Q - 7/00, pp.131-3
3 stars out of 5 - "...A timely reminder of the amazing diversity and sheer quality of [their] output over 4 studio albums in an amazing 3-year period....exhilarating..."


  • 1.Do You Believe In Magic
  • 2.You Didn't Have To Be So Nice
  • 3.Daydream
  • 4.You Baby
  • 5.Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind
  • 6.Wild About My Lovin'
  • 7.Younger Girl
  • 8.On The Road Again
  • 9.Didn't Want To Have To Do It
  • 10.Jug Band Music
  • 11.Summer In The City
  • 12.Rain On The Roof
  • 13.Pow (Theme From "What's Up, Tiger Lily?")
  • 14.Nashville Cats
  • 15.Lovin' You
  • 16.Darlin' Companion
  • 17.Coconut Grove
  • 18.Full Measure
  • 19.Darling Be Home Soon
  • 20.Lonely (Amy's Theme)
  • 21.You're A Big Boy Now
  • 22.Six O'Clock
  • 23.She Is Still A Mystery
  • 24.Money
  • 25.Younger Generation
  • 26.Never Going Back

Product Description:

The Lovin' Spoonful: John Sebastian, Zal Yanovsky, Joe Butler, Steve Boone, Jerry Yester.
Producers: Erik Jacobsen, Chip Douglas, The Lovin' Spoonful, Joe Wissert, Jack Lewis.
Compilation producer: Rob Santos.
Recorded from 1965-1968. Originally released on Kama Sutra. Includes liner notes by Ben Edmonds.
Digitally remastered by Bob Irwin (Sundazed Studios, Coxsackie, New York).
Liner Note Author: Ben Edmonds.
Photographers: Henry Diltz; Don Paulsen.
The Lovin' Spoonful was one of the very first bands to take part in the folk-rock boom of the mid-1960s, creating something of an East Coast equivalent to the Byrds' seminal L.A. jangle. The original group's lineup was regrettably short-lived, all their classic material getting released on Buddha records, so the label's definitive GREATEST HITS collection presented none of the usual cross-licensing difficulties.
All the highlights of the Spoonful's '60s discography are here--the airy, transcendent pop of the jubilant "Do You Believe in Magic" and the almost Association-like "You Didn't Have to Be So Nice," the tougher rock sound of "Summer in the City," the romantic ballad "Darling Be Home Soon," and more. The rootsier side of the ensemble can be heard as well, on the likes of "Did You Ever Have to Make Up Your Mind" and "Jug Band Music." Led by John Sebastian's mellifluous voice and graceful songwriting and Zal Yanovsky's chiming guitar, the Spoonful turned out some of the most memorable singles of the '60s, and they're all right here.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 62 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
love the spoonful Music Lover: from CARLTON, GA US -- June, 27, 2017

Excellent musicians whose lyrics take you back to a more innocent time---a fine collection from the Lovin' Spoonful.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 51,399
  • UPC: 744659971624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19