Hot Tuna Extended Versions (Live)

Get email alerts for Hot Tuna
4 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $2 (25% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 8909
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: BMG Special Products 48356 (2001)

Description by

A budget-priced 10-track collection of extended live recordings from Hot Tuna.


  • 1.Know You Rider (4:05)
  • 2.Uncle Sam Blues (4:55)
  • 3.Funky #7 (8:55)
  • 4.Bowlegged Woman, Knock Kneed Man (5:12)
  • 5.Genesis (4:38)
  • 6.Embryonic Journey (2:13)
  • 7.Don't You Leave Me Here (3:00)
  • 8.I Wish You Would (4:29)
  • 9.Watch The North Wind Rise (5:18)
  • 10.Death Don't Have No Mercy (6:13)

Product Description:

The budget Extended Versions series has been a mixed bag from the jump. The title implies one thing, but what it actually means is another. It simply means "live versions." Live records are always iffy propositions. Sometimes they are, but more often they've been doctored significantly in the studio and a live version can be significantly different from the familiar studio track. And while it's true they can be longer than those on a studio album, it's not always the case. Hot Tuna's edition is a case in point. Recorded all through the '70s and taken form official live sources, from acoustic to electric dates, this is one of the few titles in this series that's actually worth it. There are terrific acoustic readings of "I Know You Rider," "Death Don't Have No Mercy," "Uncle Sam Blues," and "Embryonic Journey." The electric cuts smoke too: the wooly, loose "Funky 17," "Genesis," (this version is significantly different and seems to mean something else as well), and "I Wish You Would." This is a killer little compilation of Hot Tuna at their best. ~ Thom Jurek

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 4 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Cool Music Lover: from RIO DE JANEIRO, RIO DE JANEIRO BR -- December, 8, 2013

For people who likes slown and calm blues...Nice acoustic tunes!!

Hot Jorma! Music Lover: from sag harbor, NY US -- April, 24, 2009

Hot F-n' Tuna! was the best "heavy" American band of the '70s! Bob Steeler was a MONSTER drummer! What has not been said about Jorma and Jack? Two virtuosos that are legends in their kind of music. Nick Buck was also a great keyboardist. Rock on, Tuna Heads!!


Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 5,601
  • UPC: 090431890929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)