Ann-Margret Bachelor's Paradise / On The Way Up

Get email alerts for Ann-Margret
6 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $10.99 (65% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
16 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 2800
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records


  • 1.Bachelor In Paradise
  • 2.I Wanna Be Loved
  • 3.Something To Remember
  • 4.Paradise
  • 5.Lovin' Spree
  • 6.You Took Advantage Of Me
  • 7.Let Me Entertain You
  • 8.Never On Sunday
  • 9.Romance In The Dark
  • 10.Call Me Darling
  • 11.Hold Me
  • 12.Mr. Wonderful
  • 13.Oh, Lonesome Me
  • 14.Slowly
  • 15.Fever
  • 16.What Do You Want From Me
  • 17.Heartbreak Hotel
  • 18.I Just Don't Understand
  • 19.His Ring
  • 20.Could It Be?
  • 21.What Am I Supposed To Do
  • 22.Let Me Go, Lover!
  • 23.Moon River
  • 24.My Last Date (With You)

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: BACHELOR'S PARADISE (1962)/ON THE WAY UP (1961).
Personnel includes: Ann-Margret (vocals); Hank Levine (arranger).
Producers: Steve Sholes, Chet Atkins, Dick Pierce.
Originally released on RCA (2659) & RCA (2453). Includes liner notes by Al Fichera.
Liner Note Authors: Hank Levine; Al Fichera.
Arranger: Hank Levine.
This discount-priced two-fer combines two of the five solo albums Ann-Margret recorded for RCA Victor Records during the 1960s, her fourth, Bachelors' Paradise (1963), followed by her second, On the Way Up (1962). The albums seem to have been chosen and sequenced as they were to provide a contrast, giving a sense of the different musical approaches Ann-Margret took during her recording career. That career to a back seat to her film acting, making it somewhat scattershot, even though it started promisingly (and prior to her movie work). In September 1961, she hit the Top 20 with the bluesy "I Just Don't Understand," featured on On the Way Up, and RCA Victor tried to position her as a female Elvis Presley, even having her cut "Heartbreak Hotel." That's the kind of material you hear on tracks 13-24 here, and though the singer isn't really a convincing rocker, her interpretations are so characteristically sexy that it doesn't much matter. Around the time that On the Way Up was released, Ann-Margret turned up on the Oscar telecast singing "Bachelor in Paradise," a traditional pop movie theme song, and Bachelors' Paradise, which leads off with that song, finds her fronting an orchestra on a collection of lush ballads, most of them vintage pop standards. She is credible in the role of pop chanteuse, conveying a more mature but just as affecting sexuality. By reversing the chronological order of the albums, Collectables makes it sound like the singer is going from 1950s-style pre-rock pop to 1960s-style pop/rock. That works fine as a listening experience. Ann-Margret could have been a much more successful recording artist than she was if she had given that aspect of her career more attention, and if she had ever figured out what kind of recording artist she wanted to be. ~ William Ruhlmann
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 1,531
  • UPC: 090431280027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)