Carl Perkins Blue Suede Shoes / Original Golden Hits

Get email alerts for Carl Perkins
10 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6429
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

A 1987 inductee into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, Perkins began his recording career as part of a family band in the mid-'50s and later toured with Johnny Cash. This collection captures his early Sun Records sessions and includes his classic recording of "Blue Suede Shoes", which rose to #2 on the Pop charts - higher than Elvis' version!


  • 1.Blue Suede Shoes
  • 2.Movie Magg
  • 3.Forever Yours
  • 4.All Mama's Children
  • 5.I'm Sorry I'm Not Sorry
  • 6.Glad All Over
  • 7.Turn Around
  • 8.Gone, Gone, Gone
  • 9.Her Love Rubbed Off
  • 10.You Can't Make Love To Somebody
  • 11.Let The Juke Box Keep On Playing
  • 12.Boppin' The Blues
  • 13.Lend Me Your Comb
  • 14.Only You
  • 15.Tennessee
  • 16.Honey Don't
  • 17.Matchbox
  • 18.Dixie Fried
  • 19.Right String But The Wrong Yo-Yo
  • 20.Everybody's Trying To Be My Baby
  • 21.Your True Love

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Mark Marymont.
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Appearances to the contrary, these are not CD reissues of genuine '50s albums. In fact, these originally appeared, respectively, in 1969 and 1970, when the Sun catalogue began to be aggressively reissued for the first time, in response, one assumes, to the then-current "rock revival" (as it was so quaintly called). In any case, this is probably the most comprehensive one-CD Perkins-at-Sun-Records best-of around, with all the hits, including the anthemic "Blue Suede Shoes," plus the songs memorably covered by the Beatles ("Matchbox," "Honey Don't," "Everybody's Trying to Be My Baby"). The rest, of course, including classics like "Dixie Fried," "Boppin' the Blues," and "Your True Love," is merely a rockabilly master class.
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 5,636
  • UPC: 090431642924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)