Gene & Debbie Golden Classics

Golden Classics
Get email alerts for Gene & Debbie
5 ratings
Sale: $4.98
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $4.48 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $10.49 (70% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 5817
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Gene Thomas had been a minor recording star and songwriter who had scored a few hits in the early 60s. In the mid-60s, Gene met Debbe Neville, an aspiring country singer. They began hitting the charts in 1967, their voices blended together well, and the way they traded coy vocals gave them hits such as "Go With Me", "Playboy", and "Lovin' Season". They went their separate ways in 1969; their material collected here is now available for the first time in years.


  • 1.Don't Try To Change Me
  • 2.Give Me A Sweetheart
  • 3.Playboy
  • 4.Rings Of Gold
  • 5.Go With Me
  • 6.Truly, Truly True
  • 7.Love Will Give Us Wings
  • 8.I'll Come Running
  • 9.Any Way You Want Me
  • 10.Let It Be Me
  • 11.Two Of A Kind
  • 12.Torch I Carry
  • 13.Loan Some
  • 14.Make A Noise Like Love
  • 15.Memories Are Made Of This
  • 16.The Sun Won't Shine Again
  • 17.Lovin' Season
  • 18.I'm Only Human

Product Description:

Gene & Debbe: Gene Thomas, Debbe Neville (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
The combined collected output of Gene & Debbe for TRX Records is an enjoyable but hardly earth-shattering assembly of pleasant country-pop, showing off the duo's range very well even as it gives listeners all of their chart singles, the flop records around them, and their Hear and Now album altogether in one place. If Gene & Debbe had a problem, it was that they were too flexible, harmonizing like the Everly Brothers and sounding as smooth and slick as Glen Campbell's records of the same period, or adding a more authentic country twang to some of their work. In the end, it's impossible to pin down who or what they were from song to song, except for the usual slick country-pop arrangements, often with lots of prominent electric guitar. Among the better songs here, apart from hits like "Playboy," "Go With Me," and others, are "Lone Some," "Made a Noise Like Love," and their cover of "Memories Are Made of This," which offers a modern '60s beat (with tasteful orchestral backup) that gives the song a whole new slant. The sound is good and the notes are reasonably informative. ~ Bruce Eder
Collectables Records
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 4,680
  • UPC: 090431581728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)