The Delta Rhythm Boys Delta Rhythm Boys

Get email alerts for The Delta Rhythm Boys
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6391
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Elektra 138 (1957)

Description by

The Delta Rhythm Boys were one of the original groups to make the connection between R&B and Doo-Wop. This self-title album was originally released by Elektra in 1957, and it features the band's jubilant takes on songs such as Gershwin's "'S Wonderful" and Cole Porter's "It's All Right with Me."


  • 1.'S Wonderful
  • 2.Poor Boy
  • 3.Saturday Night Fish Fry
  • 4.The Riddle Song
  • 5.There'll Be Some Changes Made
  • 6.Young Man With A Horn
  • 7.Side By Side
  • 8.It Ain't Necessarily So
  • 9.Blue Skies
  • 10.Bewitched, Bothered And Bewildered
  • 11.Cha Cha Joe
  • 12.Something I Dreamed Last Night
  • 13.It's All Right With Me

Product Description:

From this album's charmingly retro cover (from the 1957 original album) to its 13 smoothly crooned tunes, the 2005 reissue of THE DELTA RHYTHM BOYS is a glance back to yesteryear. The group had already been going strong for 20 years by the time this album came out (and they would continue for another 30-plus years). This self-titled release finds them giving brisk, confident treatments to standards by Gershwin and Porter and novelty songs ("The Riddle Song"). The harmonies are tight, the rhythms swing lightly, and the overall vibe is warm and charming.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 2 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Very Good Production of Easy Listening Music Lover: from Florida USA -- October, 7, 2016

First, these guys can sing anything you put in front of them. All in all, if I had to classify this music, I would have to say 'middle-of-the road'. There are ballads, swing, jump, even a cha cha. They are all done in an easy to digest way. The DRB would kill in a dinner theater environment in the old days. If you think you are getting street corner Doo Wop, keep looking - although this group could sing circles around most Doo Wop groups. However, that is an apples and oranges comparison.

The album was released in 1957, and it has a full, rich sound that sounds very close to analog even coming off a CD. They were working with great arrangers and producers. There's not a weak voice in the group, and the bass voice will rumble in your chest!

So, while it is a very 'tame' set of songs, there is a wealth of talent in these 13 sides.

Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 7,995
  • UPC: 090431639122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)