The Platters Complete A&B Sides 1953-62 (3-CD)

Get email alerts for The Platters
SALE: $15.98
List Price: $19.99
You Save: $4.01 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
item number:  ZACR 9045
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: November 4, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Acrobat

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Give Thanks
  • 2.Hey Now
  • 3.I'll Cry When You're Gone
  • 4.I Need You All the Time
  • 5.Roses of Picardy
  • 6.Beer Barrel Boogie
  • 7.Tell the World
  • 8.Love All Night
  • 9.Voo-Vee-Ah-Bee
  • 10.Shake It Up Mambo
  • 11.Maggie Doesn't Work Here Anymore
  • 12.Take Me Back, Take Me Back
  • 13.Only You (And You Alone)
  • 14.Bark, Battle and Ball
  • 15.The Great Pretender
  • 16.I'm Just a Dancing Partner
  • 17.Only You (And You Alone) [1954 Federal Version]
  • 18.You Made Me Cry
  • 19.(You've Got) the Magic Touch
  • 20.Winner Take All
  • 21.My Prayer
  • 22.Heaven On Earth
  • 23.You'll Never Never Know
  • 24.It Isn't Right

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.One In a Million
  • 2.On My Word of Honour
  • 3.I'm Sorry
  • 4.He's Mine
  • 5.My Dream
  • 6.I Wanna
  • 7.Only Because
  • 8.The Mystery of You
  • 9.Helpless
  • 10.Indifferent
  • 11.Twilight Time
  • 12.Out of My Mind
  • 13.You're Making a Mistake
  • 14.My Old Flame
  • 15.I Wish
  • 16.It's Raining Outside
  • 17.Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • 18.No Matter What You Are
  • 19.Enchanted
  • 20.The Sound and the Fury
  • 21.Remember When
  • 22.Love of a Lifetime
  • 23.Where
  • 24.Wish It Were Me
  • 25.My Blue Heaven

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.My Secret
  • 2.What Does It Matter
  • 3.Harbor Lights
  • 4.Sleepy Lagoon
  • 5.Ebb Tide - (featuring Tony Williams)
  • 6.(I'll Be With You) In Apple Blossom Time - (featuring Tony Williams)
  • 7.Red Sails In the Sunset - (featuring Tony Williams)
  • 8.Sad River - (featuring Tony Williams)
  • 9.To Each His Own
  • 10.Down the River of Golden Dreams
  • 11.If I Didn't Care
  • 12.True Lover
  • 13.Trees
  • 14.Immortal Love
  • 15.I'll Never Smile Again
  • 16.You Don't Say
  • 17.Song For the Lonely
  • 18.You'll Never Know
  • 19.It's Magic
  • 20.Reaching For a Star
  • 21.More Than You Know
  • 22.Every Little Movement (Has Meaning All Its Own)
  • 23.Memories
  • 24.Heartbreak

Product Description:

Personnel: Tony Williams (vocals).
Liner Note Author: Paul Watts.
The Platters merged Tin Pan Alley pop with just enough R&B grit to prefigure what came to be known as soul, and they were one of the most important vocal groups of the 1950s. The Platters were instrumental in putting black vocal groups on the pop map, charting with a dozen gold singles including the acknowledged classics "Only You" and "The Great Pretender," and their cover of "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes," originally recorded by Paul Whiteman in 1933, has become the definitive version of this beautiful song. This three-disc, 73-track collection has all the A- and B-sides of the singles (35 of which charted) the Platters released on the Federal and Mercury labels between 1953 and 1962, making it a nice survey of the group's first decade. ~ Steve Leggett
Acrobat Music

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 15,747
  • UPC: 824046904524
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)