The Platters Complete King Recordings

Get email alerts for The Platters
SALE: $9.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $6.99 (41% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
14 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 2889
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Songs Compiled By: Victor Pearlin
  • Audio: Little Walter DeVenne
  • Liner Notes: Victor Pearlin
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Platters sold over fifty million records worldwide, and were inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in 1990. Before their smash hit "Only You" was released by Mercruy Records in 1955, they spent two years recording for the Federal label - including backing lead singer Tony Williams' sister, Linda Hayes, on a number of recordings. This CD contains their complete recordings made for the Federal label between 1953 (when they were founded in Los Angeles by four Jefferson High School classmates) and 1955.


  • 1.I'll Cry When You're Gone
  • 2.Give Thanks
  • 3.I Need You All The Time
  • 4.Hey Now
  • 5.Love All Night
  • 6.Roses Of Picardy
  • 7.Tell The World
  • 8.Beer Barrel Boogie
  • 9.You Made Me Cry
  • 10.Humble Bumble Bee
  • 11.Only You (Master)
  • 12.Voo-Vee-Ah-Bee
  • 13.Maggie Doesn't Work Here Anymore
  • 14.Shake It Up Mambo
  • 15.Take Me Back, Take Me Back
  • 16.Don't Tickle
  • 17.My Name Ain't Annie (with Linda Hayes)
  • 18.Oochi Pachi
  • 19.Please Have Mercy (with Linda Hayes)
  • 20.I Just Wanna Mambo (with Linda Hayes)
  • 21.You Made Me Cry (Take 2)
  • 22.Only You (Original Version)
  • 23.Only You (Whistling Version)

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Victor Pearlin.
This collection contains most (but not all, in spite of the title) of the tracks a nascent version of the Platters did for King Records in the early to mid-'50s. To clear up some potential confusion, King was a subsidiary of Cincinnati's Federal Records, and these sides have also been released as The Complete Federal Recordings, but it's all the same material. The Platters at this point were not the ultrapolished group that would later record songs like "The Great Pretender" and "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes" for Mercury Records, and those kinds of orchestrated (and radio-ready) arrangements are nowhere to be seen here. Truthfully, the King (or Federal, if you'd rather) sides are really more like demos, with extremely sparse backing tracks, and while the Platters display a certain level of group dynamic and charm, they're just not ready for prime time at this point, making these recordings of historical more than musical interest. The group's first big hit, "Only You," came out on Mercury Records in 1955, and three earlier versions of the song are here, none of which rises above demo quality. One take, the so-called "whistling version," features Herb Reed whistling away behind an unsteady and tentative vocal by lead singer Tony Williams, and the result is simply awful, unless the idea was to undertake a complete deconstruction of the song, which is unlikely. This disc will have some appeal to collectors and historians of the Platters, but casual listeners should definitely stick with the later Mercury recordings. ~ Steve Leggett
Collectables Records
Very Best Of King/Federal/DeLuxe Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 44,087
  • UPC: 090431288924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)