COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

Charles Brown Very Best of Charles Brown

Get email alerts for Charles Brown
8 ratings
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $10.99 (65% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 2891
Brand New

CD Details

  • Songs Compiled By: Victor Pearlin
  • Audio: Little Walter DeVenne
  • Liner Notes: Victor Pearlin
  • Tracks 1-20 released for first time in stereo. Track 21 thur 25 mono.
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Charles Brown had a recording career which spanned more than fifty years, and included numerous hits, first with Johnny Moore's Three Blazers and then as a solo artist. His style of singing and playing piano was very influential in the 1940s and 1950s. The recordings featured on this CD are from Brown's tenure with King - where he had his final chart entry with his first release for King, "Please Come Home For Christmas." Brown's sound is both timeless and instantly recognizable on these recordings, most heard in stereo here for the first time.


  • 1.Please Come Home For Christmas
  • 2.Baby Oh Baby
  • 3.Angel Baby
  • 4.I Wanna Go Home
  • 5.My Little Baby
  • 6.This Fool Has Learned
  • 7.Butterfly
  • 8.It's Christmas Time
  • 9.Christmas In Heaven
  • 10.Christmas Blues
  • 11.Without A Friend
  • 12.If You Play With Cats
  • 13.I'm Just A Drifter
  • 14.I Don't Want Your Ramblin' Letters
  • 15.If You Don't Believe I'm Crying
  • 16.Lucky Dreamer
  • 17.I Wanna Be Close
  • 18.Too Fine For Crying
  • 19.Come Home
  • 20.Blow Out The Candles
  • 21.Regardless
  • 22.Plan
  • 23.Hang On A Little Longer
  • 24.Black Night
  • 25.Merry Christmas Baby

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Victor Pearlin.
With Charles Brown's elegant piano style and a smooth voice that made him sound a little bit like a gruffer Nat King Cole, Brown's jazz-tinged blues (or is it blues-tinged jazz?) is the perfect music for unwinding after a bleary-eyed night on the town. This set, in spite of its claims, isn't really "the very best" from Brown, since it contains none of his classic Aladdin recordings from the late '40s and early '50s, but is comprised instead of sides he cut for Ohio's King Records in the early '60s, including the 1960 holiday hit "Please Come Home for Christmas" (the version here of Brown's other holiday hit, "Merry Christmas Baby," is not the classic 1947 recording but a stereo remake). Not having the Aladdin material doesn't make this a bad collection (Brown was too professional to ever make a bad recording), but it also doesn't make it particularly essential. ~ Steve Leggett
Collectables Records
Very Best Of King/Federal/DeLuxe Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,712
  • UPC: 090431289129
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19