Memphis Slim The Very Best of Memphis Slim- Messin' Around With The Blues

Get email alerts for Memphis Slim
SALE: $9.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $6.99 (41% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 2892
Brand New

CD Details

  • Digitally Mastered By: Little Walter DeVenne
  • Liner Notes: Victor Pearlin
  • Compiled By: Victor Pearlin
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Memphis Slim was without a doubt the most prolifically-recorded blues pianist of the post World War II era. Hey may even have been the most widely-recorded blues artist of the period, perhaps only challenged for that honor by John Lee Hooker. He made his first recordings in 1940 in the company of Washboard Sam (under his given name of Peter Chatman) for Okeh Records in Chicago. He thereafter always recorded as Memphis Slim, his nickname having been given to him by the place of his birth and his six foot, five inch frame. This CD features recordings he made in Chicago between 1946 and 1948. Five of the songs included here made the top fifteen on Billboard's Rhythm & Blues charts between 1948 and 1949.


  • 1.Cheatin' Around
  • 2.A Letter Home
  • 3.Now I Got The Blues
  • 4.Grinder Man Blues
  • 5.Don't Ration Love
  • 6.Slim's Boogie
  • 7.Little Mary
  • 8.Mistake In Life
  • 9.Darling I Miss You So
  • 10.Lend Me Your Love
  • 11.Life's Like That
  • 12.Nobody Loves Me
  • 13.Motherless Child
  • 14.Pacemaker Boogie
  • 15.Messin' Around
  • 16.Midnight Jump
  • 17.Harlem Bound
  • 18.Kilroy Was Here
  • 19.Rocking The House
  • 20.Blue And Lonesome
  • 21.Country Girl
  • 22.Angel Child
  • 23.Believe I'll Settle Down
  • 24.Frisco Bay
  • 25.Help Me Some
  • 26.Throw This Poor Dog A Bone
  • 27.Timsy's Whimsy

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Victor Pearlin.
Drawing his recording moniker of Memphis Slim from his lanky six-foot five-inch frame, blues pianist Peter Chatman was instrumental in bringing a jazzy, urban sensibility to the blues in the mid '40s. This generous 27-track collection features recordings he made between 1946 and 1948, first with Hy-Tone Records, the masters of which were purchased by King Records and released as singles in 1948 and 1949, and then with Miracle Records, which were re-released as 78 singles by Federal Records, a King subsidiary, in 1951. Slim's jazz-inflected uptown sound (usually driven by merged alto and tenor saxes) is in full force on these tracks, giving the whole disc a remarkable unity of tone. Highlights include some lightning-fueled jazz blues romps like "Slim's Boogie," "Pacemaker Boogie," and "Harlem Bound," along with samples of Slim's prolific songwriting like the endlessly clever "Kilroy Was Here" and his signature tune, "Nobody Loves Me," which became better known as "Everyday I Have the Blues" in later versions by B.B. King, Joe Williams, Lowell Fulson, and others. At over 75 minutes in length, this compilation delivers bang for the buck, and makes an ideal introduction to the tall genius of Memphis Slim. ~ Steve Leggett
Collectables Records
Very Best Of King/Federal/DeLuxe Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 31,936
  • UPC: 090431289228
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)