COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

BBC Sessions [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD + DVD)

BBC Sessions [Deluxe Edition] (2-CD + DVD)
Get email alerts for Jimi Hendrix
10 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $19 Limited Time Only
List Price: $19.98
You Save: $0.98 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 6 copies left
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  364J3
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: November 16, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 7/9-23/98, p.134
4 Stars (out of 5) - "...It's damned exciting to hear Hendrix playing so passionately in 1967, before the world officially cared. All of the essential trademarks--the bold-as-life melodies, the roaring backbeats informed by the blues--are present..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Foxey Lady
  • 2.Alexis Korner Introduction
  • 3.Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window?
  • 4.Rhythm and Blues World Service
  • 5.(I'm Your) Hoochie Coochie Man
  • 6.Traveling with the Experience
  • 7.Driving South
  • 8.Fire
  • 9.Little Miss Lover
  • 10.Introducing the Experience
  • 11.The Burning of the Midnight Lamp
  • 12.Catfish Blues
  • 13.Stone Free
  • 14.Love or Confusion
  • 15.Hey Joe
  • 16.Hound Dog
  • 17.Driving South
  • 18.Hear My Train a Comin'

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Purple Haze
  • 2.Killing Floor
  • 3.Radio One
  • 4.Wait Until Tomorrow
  • 5.Day Tripper
  • 6.Spanish Castle Magic
  • 7.Jammin'
  • 8.I Was Made to Love Her
  • 9.Foxey Lady - (alternate take)
  • 10.A Brand New Sound
  • 11.Hey Joe - (alternate take)
  • 12.Manic Depression [BBC Television]
  • 13.Driving South - (alternate take)
  • 14.Hear My Train a Comin' - (alternate take)
  • 15.A Happening for Lulu
  • 16.Voodoo Child (Slight Return) [BBC Television]
  • 17.Lulu Introduction
  • 18.Hey Joe [BBC Television]
  • 19.Sunshine of Your Love [BBC Television]
  • 20.The Burning of the Midnight Lamp

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.BBC Sessions [DVD Documentary]

Product Description:

The Jimi Hendrix Experience: Jimi Hendrix (guitar, vocals); Noel Redding (bass, background vocals); Mitch Mitchell (drums, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Alexis Korner (slide guitar); Stevie Wonder (drums).
Producers include: Bill Bebb, Jeff Griffin, Bernie Andrews.
Compilation producer: Janie Hendrix, Eddie Kramer, John McDermott.
Recorded between February 13 and December 15, 1967 and on January 4, 1969. Includes liner notes by David Sinclair.
Personnel: Jimi Hendrix (vocals, guitar); Mitch Mitchell (drums, background vocals); Noel Redding (background vocals).
Liner Note Authors: John McDermott ; David Sinclair.
Recording information: 02/13/1967-01/04/1969.
Photographers: Bill Zygmant; Ray Stevenson; Dezo Hoffman; Rex Features; Joel Elkins; David Magnus; Bruce Fleming; Tony Glae.
Right around the same time the Hendrix juggernaut started snowballing in England, the BBC was in the midst of setting up Radio 1, an entity dedicated to broadcasting pop music. Spearheaded by adventurous DJs such as John Peel and Alexis Korner, Radio 1 provided an outlet for the creative outpouring of the newly arrived Hendrix along with countless others. Since many BBC sessions fell halfway between being a studio recording and a live performance, BBC SESSIONS shows off some of Hendrix's most spontaneous and creative outbursts. Along with the core of his catalog being showcased ("Purple Haze," "Fire"), Hendrix's fun-loving side shines through. Some of these moments include his wreaking havoc on Lulu's show by changing gears from a drastically reworked "Hey Joe" and dedicating "Sunshine Of Your Love" to the recently split up Cream before getting the plug pulled on him. Among the other covers included in this two-disc set is a notable instrumental jam on "I Was Made To Love Her," featuring Stevie Wonder on drums. More than any other recording up to this point, BBC SESSIONS shows the Jimi Hendrix Experience at its most bright-eyed and vibrant.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 32,307
  • UPC: 886977451928
  • Shipping Weight: 0.38/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)