N.W.A. Straight Outta Compton

Rolling Stone: 5 stars out of 5 - "...One of hip-hop's crucial albums..."
Get email alerts for N.W.A.
258 ratings
SALE: $11.99
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $1.99 (14% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  ZUCL 5221
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 9, 2015
  • Originally Released: 1988
  • Label: Priority Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 10/02, p.75
5 stars out of 5 - "...One of hip-hop's crucial albums..."
Rolling Stone - 12/11/03, p.128
Ranked #144 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "This was the start of gangsta rap, as well as the launching pad for the careers of Ice Cube, Eazy-E and Dr. Dre."
voted one of the 'Top 50 Titles Of 1989.'
Uncut - 11/02, p.141
5 stars out of 5 - "...Their landmark blend of pop, rage and skilful self-marketing conitnues to reverberate...."
Alternative Press - 7/95, p.88
Ranked #45 in AP's list of the 'Top 99 Of '85-'95' - "...Recorded in a garage, this record integrate[s] sensational violence and sexist bravado with cheesy house-party music, staying charming all the way....this record eventually sent rap to the gallows as imitators took the gospel to heart: 'Life ain't nothing but bitches and money'..."
Vibe - 12/99, p.164
Included in Vibe's 100 Essential Albums of the 20th Century
Q (Magazine) - p.118
4 stars out of 5 -- "[W]ith Dr. DRe pulling the strings and ramping up the beats, its significance remains undeniable."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.118
4 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t still sounds magnificent. Made before using samples became too expensive, there's a riot of them here, selected with funk-aware good taste."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.93
3 stars out of 5 -- "[E]ssential. It is, after all, a hip-hop foundation block from the sampledelic days, pointing the way to gangsta rap's 90s rule."


  • 1.Straight Outta Compton
  • 2.Fuck Tha Police
  • 3.Gangsta Gangsta
  • 4.If It Ain't Ruff
  • 5.Parental Discretion Iz Advised
  • 6.8 Ball
  • 7.Something Like That
  • 8.Express Yourself
  • 9.Compton's N The House (Remix)
  • 10.I Ain't Tha 1
  • 11.Dopeman
  • 12.Quiet On Tha Set
  • 13.Something 2 Dance 2
  • 14.Express Yourself
  • 15.Bonus Beats
  • 16.Straight Outta Compton (Extended Mix)
  • 17.A Bitch Iz A Bitch

Product Description:

N.W.A.: M.C. Ren, Ice Cube, Eazy-E, Dr. Dre, Yella.
Recorded at Audio Achievements, Torrance, California.
N.W.A.: M.C. Ren, Ice Cube, Eazy-E, Dr. Dre, Yella (rap vocals).
Recorded at Audio Achievements, Torrance, California. Includes liner notes by Phyllis Pollack.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Recording information: Audio Achievements, Torrance, CA.
Photographer: Eric Poppleton.
The year 2008 marks the 20th anniversary of N.W.A's landmark album STRAIGHT OUTTA COMPTON, one of the two most important gangsta rap albums ever (the other being N.W.A. founding member Dr. Dre's THE CHRONIC). The album sounds as ferocious and frightening as ever, as it continues to voice the "power of street knowledge" to the masses. Like the similarly themed 10th Anniversary edition, this version of S.O.C. contains a handful of reworked versions of songs by some of the biggest names in post-N.W.A. rap, including Snoop Dogg ("Gangsta Gangsta") and Ice Cube protege Mack 10 ("Dopeman"). The collective force and power of Ren, Eazy-E, Dre, Cube, and Yella can not be underestimated, and this 20th-anniversary disc is evidence why.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 602547308122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.18/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)