Ruth Brown Ruth Brown / Miss Rhythm

Ruth Brown / Miss Rhythm
Get email alerts for Ruth Brown
3 ratings
WINTER SALE: $7.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $6.99 (47% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
13 copies available
sku:  COL 6232
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Blessed with one of the most magnificent voices ever, Ruth Brown's place in musical history is unique. One of the most popular R&B singers of all time, Ruth was a mainstay on the charts during the '50s. Because she had so many successes, her label was known as "the house that Ruth built". The two Atlantic albums collected here are filled with the kind of tunes "Miss Rhythm" sent straight to the top of the sales charts.


  • 1.Lucky Lips
  • 2.As Long As I'm Moving
  • 3.Wild Wild Young Men
  • 4.Daddy Daddy
  • 5.Mambo Baby
  • 6.Teardrops From My Eyes
  • 7.Hello Little Boy
  • 8.Mama, He Treats Your Daughter Mean
  • 9.5-10-15 Hours
  • 10.It's Love Baby (24 Hours A Day)
  • 11.Sentimental Journey
  • 12.Old Man River
  • 13.So Long
  • 14.Oh What A Dream
  • 15.This Little Girl's Gone Rockin'
  • 16.Just Too Much
  • 17.I Hope We Meet (On The Road Someday)
  • 18.Why Me
  • 19.Somebody Touched Me
  • 20.When I Get You Baby
  • 21.Jack O'diamonds
  • 22.I Can't Hear A Word You Say
  • 23.One More Time
  • 24.Book Of Lies
  • 25.I Can See Everybody's Baby
  • 26.Show Me

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: RUTH BROWN (1957)/MISS RHYTHM (1959).
Includes liner notes by Marv Goldberg.
RUTH BROWN/MISS RHYTHM compiles two of Ruth Brown's late-'50s albums for Atlantic, but the single disc is practically a greatest-hits set. Several of the singer's signature tunes appear on the self-titled album, including "Daddy Daddy," "Teardrops from My Eyes," and "Mama, He Treats Your Daughter Mean." The less familiar fare holds pleasant surprises. Brown's version of "Old Man River" recalls the Ink Spots, while the Billy Eckstine-styled ballad "So Long" finds Brown working the very bottom of her vocal register.
MISS RHYTHM contains only one pop hit, Bobby Darin's "This Little Girl's Gone Rockin'." This song sets the tone for an album that is less R&B-flavored and more obviously aimed at the teenage record-buying audience. Highlights here include "Just Too Much," whose "Get Smart"-like harpsichord solo may be an attempt to emulate Rosemary Clooney's "Come on a My House," and the intensely melodramatic "Book of Lies."
Collectables Records
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 47,672
  • UPC: 090431623220
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)