Panama Francis All Stars 1949

Get email alerts for Panama Francis
6 ratings
Price: $5.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $6.99 (54% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD-R
item number:  COL 5313
Brand New

CD-R Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Nicknamed for the distinctive Panama hats he wore, drummer Panama Francis laid down these jump tracks for Gotham Records in 1949 with his "All Stars," a line-up that included many of the big band and jazz royalty of the day.


  • 1.Jitterbug Jump (Previously Unreleased Take)
  • 2.Honey Blues
  • 3.Crackerjack
  • 4.Panama's Jump (Previously Unreleased Track)
  • 5.Peach Tree Shuffle
  • 6.Satchel Shuffle
  • 7.Pussy Cats At Midnight
  • 8.Out Of Nowhere (Previously Unreleased Take)
  • 9.Jitterbug Jump (Previously Unreleased Take)
  • 10.Honey Blues (Previously Unreleased Take)
  • 11.Crackerjack, The (Previously Unreleased Take)
  • 12.Panama's Jump (Previously Unreleased Track)
  • 13.Satchel Shuffle (Previously Unreleased Take)
  • 14.Out Of Nowhere (Previously Unreleased Take)
  • 15.Scrambled Eggs

Product Description:

Most of these selections were taken from master tapes. However, in some cases where master tapes were not available the best possible sources were used.
Personnel: Panama Francis (drums); Mary-Louise (vocals); Hilton Jefferson (alto saxophone); Sam "The Man" Taylor (tenor saxophone); Jonah Jones (trumpet); Dave Rivera (piano).
Collectables' All Stars 1949 is a storming swing set that drummer Panama Francisco led in 1949. ~ Leo Stanley

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Rhythm & Blues Music Lover: from LE HAVRE, Seine-Maritime FR -- June, 5, 2005

This album is more for the R&B fan than for the jazz fan, despite the fact that some of the musicians (including the leader) have a distinguished Jazz career (Danny Turner was a long time member of the Count Basie Orchestra). This record is historically interesting more than anything else. Sound quality of the original recording is quite poor.

Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Series:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 35,713
  • UPC: 090431531327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)