Country Joe & The Fish Electric Music for the Mind and Body (2-CD)

Electric Music for the Mind and Body (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Country Joe & The Fish
40 ratings
WINTER SALE: $13.58 Limited Time Only
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $2.41 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
17 copies available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  AHAR
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: April 2, 2013
  • Originally Released: 2013
  • Label: Ace Records UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.134
"'Death Sound Blues' is an atmospheric acid-blues, and the first evidence that Melton was up there with Kaukonen and Cippolina among West Coast guitar gods."


  • 1.Flying High
  • 2.Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine
  • 3.Death Sound
  • 4.Porpoise Mouth
  • 5.Section 43
  • 6.Superbird
  • 7.Sad and Lonely Times
  • 8.Love
  • 9.Bass Strings
  • 10.The Masked Marauder
  • 11.Grace
  • 12.Flying High
  • 13.Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine
  • 14.Death Sound
  • 15.Porpoise Mouth
  • 16.Section 43
  • 17.Superbird
  • 18.Sad and Lonely Times
  • 19.Love
  • 20.Bass Strings
  • 21.The Masked Marauder
  • 22.Grace

Product Description:

Country Joe & The Fish: Joe McDonald, Barry Melton, David Cohen, Bruce Barthol, Chicken Hirsh.
Personnel: Barry Melton (vocals, guitar); Joe McDonald (vocals, harmonica, tambourine, bells); David Cohen (guitar, organ); Bruce Barthol (harmonica); Gary "Chicken" Hirsh (drums).
Liner Note Author: Alec Palao.
Recording information: Sierra Sound Laboratories, Berkeley, CA (02/1967); Sierra Sound Laboratories, Berkeley, CA (1967-02-06&1967-02-01_1967-).
A linchpin release in 1967, this album defined the genre known as acid-rock. Led by former folk musician Joe McDonald, the quintet combines engaging melodies with sharp, satirical lyrics encompassing different facets of the counterculture--drugs ("Bass Strings"), sex ("Porpoise Mouth"), and politics ("Superbird")--while the group contributes exquisite, subtle support. Guitarist Barry Melton brings shimmering majesty to the instrument, cutting through the verse with mercurial insight and soloing to perfection. The quiet power of this album continues to enthrall those willing to enter its strange but friendly world.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 113,742
  • UPC: 029667047425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.30/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)