American Jazz Philharmonic American Jazz Philharmonic

American Jazz Philharmonic
List Price: $9.98
You Save: $5 (50% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
20 copies available
sku:  ZSM 518
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 23, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: GRP


  • 1.Open Me First
  • 2.Nostalgico
  • 3.Part I
  • 4.Part II
  • 5.Part III
  • 6.1st Movement
  • 7.2nd Movement
  • 8.3rd Movement

Product Description:

The American Jazz Philharmonic is a 60 piece jazz orchestra led by composer/conductor Jack Elliot. The pieces on this debut disc are original works commissioned from four composers: John Clayton, Manny Albam, Ray Brown and Claus Ogerman.
The American Jazz Philharmonic includes: Jack Elliott (conductor); Charlie Davis (trumpet); Lloyd Ulyate (trombone); Vince DeRosa (French horn); Tommy Johnson (tuba); Gene Burkert, Louise DiTullio (flute); Earl Dumler (oboe); Vince Trombetta, Ralph Williams (clarinet); Ron Janelli, John Lowe, Ray Reed, Bob Tricarico (bassoon); Murray Adler (violin); Katie Kirkpatrick (harp); Tom Garvin (piano); Trey Henry (bass); Sol Gubin (drums).
Additional personnel: Phil Woods (alto saxophone); Snooky Young (trumpet); Ray Brown (acoustic bass).
Recorded at Paramount Studios, Scoring Stage "M" and the Dorothy Chandler Pavilion, Hollywood, California. Includes liner notes by Jack Elliott and A. James Liska.
Listeners hoping to hear an innovative mixture of jazz and classical music or some fresh approaches to making strings swing will be disappointed by this disc. Jack Elliott's overly large ensemble (which includes ten woodwinds, 13 brass, 24 strings, harp, piano, three basses, drums and three percussionists) performs John Clayton's "Open Me First" (which at best sounds like swinging movie music), Claus Ogerman's lush "Symphonic Dances," Manny Albam's "Nostalgico" (a feature for altoist Phil Woods) and Ray Brown's three-part "Afterthoughts" which showcases the composer's bass over some interesting melodies. In general the results are rather predictable and dull with the orchestra sounding quite anonymous. ~ Scott Yanow
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 26,031
  • UPC: 011105973021
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)