Tommy Dorsey Volume 2

Get email alerts for Tommy Dorsey
SALE: $3.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $12.99 (77% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 2818
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

This nineteen-cut compilation includes Sinatra crooning on cuts such as "Blue Skies" and "This Love Of Mine," as well as Connie Haines' take on Cole Porter's "What Is This Thing Called Love."


  • 1.That's A Plenty
  • 2.After You've Gone
  • 3.Beale Street Blues
  • 4.Night And Day
  • 5.Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • 6.Milenberg Joys (Parts 1 And 2)
  • 7.Tea For Two
  • 8.The One I Love (Belongs To Somebody Else)
  • 9.For You
  • 10.This Love Of Mine
  • 11.Blue Skies
  • 12.Hallelujah!
  • 13.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 14.Well, Git It!
  • 15.Chicago
  • 16.Chloe (Song Of The Swamp)
  • 17.Why Do I Love You
  • 18.It's Delovely
  • 19.I Get A Kick Out Of You

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Tommy Dorsey (trombone); Sy Oliver (vocals, arranger); Frank Sinatra, Jo Stafford, Connie Haines; The Pied Pipers; The Sentimentalists (vocals); Buddy DeFranco (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Bunny Berigan, Ziggy Elman (trumpet); Joe Bushkin, Milt Raskin (piano); Buddy Rich, Dave Tough (drums).
Recorded between 1936 & 1950.
Personnel: Connie Haines, Frank Sinatra, Jo Stafford, Stuart Foster, Sy Oliver, Sentimentalists (vocals).
Recording information: 06/09/1936-01/04/1950.
The second of two volumes (both double LPs) in a 1971 series from RCA Victor, This Is Tommy Dorsey & His Orchestra, Vol. 2 featured a few of the band's big early hits missing from the first volume ("After You've Gone," "Night and Day," "Smoke Gets in Your Eyes"), but focused largely on Dorsey's later years. Twelve of the performances date from the '40s or later, including many vocal features: "Blue Skies" and "This Love of Mine" for Frank Sinatra, "For You" with Jo Stafford, and "What Is This Thing Called Love?" for Connie Haines. Reissued on CD by Collectables in 2001, the set lost none of its luster, and is one of the best ways for a beginner to hear the best war-era swing. ~ John Bush
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,837
  • UPC: 090431281826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)