COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

Gary U.S. Bonds The Very Best of Gary U.S. Bonds: 36 Original Recordings (2-CD)

The Very Best of Gary U.S. Bonds: 36 Original
Get email alerts for Gary U.S. Bonds
SALE: $7.98
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $6 (43% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  ZDAY 308
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 24, 2016
  • Originally Released: 2016
  • Label: One Day Music

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.New Orleans
  • 2.Quarter To Three
  • 3.Twist, Twist Senora
  • 4.School Is In
  • 5.Please Forgive Me
  • 6.Not Me
  • 7.Gettin' A Groove
  • 8.Minnie The Moocher
  • 9.Do The Limbo With Me
  • 10.Give Me One More Chance
  • 11.Stop The Music
  • 12.Naughty Little Flea
  • 13.Food Of Love
  • 14.Day-O
  • 15.Cecilia
  • 16.I Know Why Dreamers Cry
  • 17.Havin' So Much Fun
  • 18.Coconut Woman

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.School Is Out
  • 2.Seven Day Weekend
  • 3.Dear Lady Twist
  • 4.Mama Look A Booboo
  • 5.Don't Go To Strangers
  • 6.I'll Change That Too
  • 7.Time Ole Story
  • 8.Cordelia Brown
  • 9.Mixed Up Faculty
  • 10.One Million Tears
  • 11.Copy Cat
  • 12.A Trip To The Moon
  • 13.Scratch Scratch Me Back
  • 14.I Dig This Station
  • 15.Man Smart, Woman Smarter
  • 16.That's All Right
  • 17.Where Did That Naughty Little Girl Go
  • 18.Not Me (Alt. Ver.)

Product Description:

Personnel: Gary U.S. Bonds (vocals).
The Church Street Five: Earl Swanson, Gene "Daddy G" Barge (saxophone); Leonard Barks (trombone); Willie Burnell (piano); Ron "Junior" Fairley (bass); Emmett "Nabs" Shields (drums).
Compilation producers: Cary E. Mansfield, Walter De Venne.
Producer: Frank Guida.
Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.
Digitally remastered by Dan Hersch (DigiPrep, Hollywood, California).
The title to this 16-track collection has more than its share of quirks and wrinkles. Fully 14 tracks are duplicated with The School of Rock 'n' Roll: Best of Gary U.S. Bonds, released by Rhino in 1990, making it a negligible buy for anyone who already owns that earlier compilation. All the chart hits are here, including "New Orleans," "Quarter to Three," "School Is Out" (again with the original intro clipped off, same as the Rhino comp), "School Is In," "Twist, Twist SeĀ¤ora," and "Dear Lady Twist." New to this collection are the inclusion of "Gettin' a Groove," "Copy Cat," and "I Dig This Station." The latter two items grazed the bottom of the charts, hence their inclusion, but leaving off strong album and single material like "Trip to the Moon," "I Know Why Dreamers Cry," "Mixed Up Faculty," and "Cecelia" to make room for the second go-round of non-charters like "Take Me Back to New Orleans," "Having So Much Fun," "Where Did the Naughty Little Girl Go," and "I Wanta Holler (But the Town's Too Small)" makes this a less than stellar supplement to the Rhino package. But it's a decent alternative, leaving half of a compilation's worth of material between the two best-ofs. ~ Cub Koda

Similar Products


Product Info

  • EAN: 5060255183083
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)