The Belmonts Very Best of The Belmonts - Tell Me Why

Get email alerts for The Belmonts
14 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
19 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 7506
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping

CD Details

  • All songs stereo except tracks 4, 7, 13, 18, 23 and 25.
  • Liner Notes: Bill Dahl
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

When it comes to the development of Italian-American doo wop, the Belmonts' massive contributions - both with and without Dion - are the bedrock of the entire movement. This 25-track compilation features recordings made by the Belmonts between 1961 and 1964 - just after Dion's departure to persue a solo career - primarily for the Sabina and Sabrina record labels. Includes extensive liner notes.


  • 1.Tell Me Why
  • 2.I Need Someone
  • 3.Searching For A New Love
  • 4.Come On Little Angel
  • 5.Don't Get Around Much Anymore
  • 6.I Confess
  • 7.Have You Heard
  • 8.Diddle Dee Dum
  • 9.That Background Sound
  • 10.More Important Things To Do
  • 11.Ac Cent Tchu Ate The Positive
  • 12.Walk On Boy
  • 13.So Wrong
  • 14.Lookout For Cindy
  • 15.Hombre
  • 16.Ann Marie
  • 17.Farewell
  • 18.Smoke From Your Cigarette
  • 19.That American Dance
  • 20.This Love Of Mine
  • 21.How About Me
  • 22.I Don't Know How To Cry
  • 23.Summertime Time
  • 24.Now It's All Over
  • 25.Time To Dream

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Bill Dahl.
Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
As Bill Dahl writes in his excellent liner notes, Dion says that he split from the Belmonts in 1961 because they wanted to take a smoother, more traditional musical approach and he wanted to introduce more strains of rock & roll and blues. But when the Belmonts got out on their own, they ended up following Dion's lead to such an extent that they might as well have stayed with him. This is clear from a listen to Collectables Records' 25-track collection of their 1961-1964 recordings for their own Sabina label, including the six singles they charted. True, they could offer their covers of songs associated with Duke Ellington ("Don't Get Around Much Anymore"), Bing Crosby ("AC-Cent-Tchu-Ate the Positive"), and Frank Sinatra ("This Love of Mine"). But many of their performances sounded like copies of Dion hits, particularly "I Need Someone," a dead ringer for "Runaround Sue" that followed its appearance by months. Collectables focuses on the Belmonts' similarity to Dion by including several recordings on which they sang backup to Dion soundalikes. "So Wrong" and "Lookout for Cindy" feature lead vocals by Pete Barin, while Buddy Christie (aka Buddy Sheppard) takes the lead on "That Background Sound," "Now It's All Over," and "Time to Dream." The Belmonts themselves changed lead singers during this period, with Carlo Mastrangelo being replaced by Frank Lyndon, and since the sequencing mixes up the chronology, the tracks seem to be coming from several different Dion & the Belmonts copycat groups. Nevertheless, there are many enjoyable performances here (all but six of them in stereo), and this album will make a good addition to the collection of any Dion fan. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 14 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Very Best of The Belmonts-Tell Me Why Music Lover: from denver, CO US -- September, 1, 2007

I agree with Mr.Peterson of CO!!

I still own a reissue album of most songs here on LP record, I bought for $20 at a local "music dealers" swap meet,back in mid 80's,and have "Dion and Friends- in NYC" CD (RMH 1987 concert for WCBS radio)with Carlo helping on vocals and sings Tell Me Why!!
Dion and the boys from the Bronx RULE Daddy-O!!

Great -even without DiMucci Music Lover: from arvada, CO US -- March, 10, 2006

These are some classic Italian- Bronx Doo Wop. You can not go wrong. These are the best of the Sabina and U/A sides.A must for All music fans

Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 4,949
  • UPC: 090431750629
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)