The Nutmegs Greatest Hits

Get email alerts for The Nutmegs
26 ratings
Price: $14
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $0.98 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD-R
item number:  X4K3
Brand New

CD-R Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1994
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The Nutmegs added some spice to the Doo Wop world. They scored an R&B smash in 1955 with "Story Untold", a song which showcased the tenor of lead Leroy Griffin. This Connecticut quintet also hit with "The Ship of Love"; the best of their work (including an outtake of "Story Untold") is included with their other singles on this set.


  • 1.Story Untold
  • 2.Key To The Kingdom
  • 3.Ship Of Love
  • 4.Rip Van Winkle (Bonus Track)
  • 5.Whispering Sorrow
  • 6.Gift O' Gabbin' Woman
  • 7.Make Me Lose My Mind
  • 8.Dream Of Love, A (Bonus Track)
  • 9.My Story
  • 10.Rock Me
  • 11.Story Untold (Bonus Track)
  • 12.Comin' Home
  • 13.A Love So True
  • 14.Someone, Somewhere (Bonus Track)
  • 15.Betty Lou
  • 16.Crazy 'Bout You (Bonus Track)
  • 17.My Sweet Dream

Product Description:

The Nutmegs include: Leroy Griffin, James "Sonny" Griffin, Jimmy "CoCo" Tyson, Bill Emery, Leroy McNeil (vocals).
Includes liner notes by Charlie Horner.
Personnel: Leroy Griffin (vocals); James Coco Tyson, James Griffin (tenor); Leroy McNeil (bass voice).
Unknown Contributor Role: Mark Marymont.
The Nutmegs notched two significant R&B hits in 1955, the number two "Story Untold" and the Top 20 "Ship of Love," both on the Herald label. The Crew Cuts covered "Story Untold" and took it to the pop charts where the Nutmegs never registered. The Nutmegs' Greatest Hits collects all of the group's Herald singles from 1955-1959 and both sides of a 1962 single lead singer Leroy Griffin made with a new lineup of the Nutmegs. Two songs from a 1960 Tel label single are also included on this thorough (but not complete) retrospective. Like their contemporaries the Harptones, the Nutmegs often paired their ballads with uptempo songs on their singles, which means that for every "Story Untold" there is a "Rock Me" or a novelty like "Rip Van Winkle." Relic Records released an equivalent Nutmegs anthology, Story Untold, that overlaps significantly. ~ Greg Adams

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 26 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Very good,but missing some of their key songs Music Lover: from SPRINGFIELD, NJ USA -- July, 30, 2005

Leroy Griffin and the Nutmegs formed the most unique ensemble of the doowopp era,with hauntingly emotional tones creating a sound that can be described as eerie, melancholy and stark.But make no mistake, this was one of the most professional groups of their time, whose acapella renditions are the stuff of legend among doowopp afficionados. This is a very good collection but the absence of such wonderful songs such as "Down in Mexico","Hello","Down to Earth" "You`re crying"and "Ting a Ling" make this far from a complete discography.However,it is a good primer CD for the doowopp novice.The biggest hits are here:"Story Untold","Whispering Sorrows","Keys to the Kingdom" and "Ship of fools".However,veteran doowopp fans of this group would be better served with a more complete array of their music, highlighting more of their immortal minor key chord progressions and well honed syncopated harmonics.

Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 721
  • UPC: 090431501825
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Saturday: 11am-6pm, Sunday: Closed (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)