Lennie Tristano Lennie Tristano

Get email alerts for Lennie Tristano
SALE: $12.97
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6537
Brand New
Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Atlantic 1224 (1955)

Description by OLDIES.com:

A reissue of the classic 1955 Atlantic release, featuring Lennie Tristano backed by Lee Konitz on sax, Gene Ramey or Peter Ind on bass, and Art Taylor or Jeff Morton on drums.


  • 1.Line Up
  • 2.Requiem
  • 3.Turkish Mambo
  • 4.East Thirty-Second
  • 5.These Foolish Things
  • 6.You Go To My Head
  • 7.If I Had You
  • 8.Ghost Of A Chance
  • 9.All The Things You Are

Product Description:

Originally released on Atlantic.
Personnel: Lennie Tristano (piano); Lennie Tristano; Gene Ramey, Peter Ind (double bass); Lee Konitz (alto saxophone); Jeff Morton, Art Taylor (drums).
Liner Note Author: Barry Ulanov.
Lennie Tristano's Atlantic debut was a controversial album at the time of its release. Though Tristano was regarded as a stellar and innovative bebop pianist, he had been absent from recording for six years and had founded a jazz school where he focused instead on teaching. The first four tunes on this set shocked the jazz world at the time of their release (though not critic Barry Ulanov, who was Tristano's greatest champion and wrote the liner notes for the set). The reason was that on those four original tunes -- "Line Up," "Requiem," "Turkish Mambo," and "East Thirty-Second" -- Tristano actually overdubbed piano lines, and sped the tape up and down for effect. While the effect is quite listenable and only jarring in the most splendid sense of the word -- because of the sharp, angular arpeggios and the knotty, involved method of improvising that came directly by improvising against the rhythm section of drummer Jeff Morton and bassist Peter Ind -- it was literally unheard of at the time. The last five tunes on the disc were recorded live with a rhythm section of bassist Gene Ramey and drummer Art Taylor. Lee Konitz plays alto as well. The tunes are all standards, including "These Foolish Things," "Ghost of a Chance," and "All the Things You Are." The performance is flawless, with beautiful interplay between Lee and Lennie and stellar harmonic ideas coming down from the bandstand in a fluid relaxed manner. This is a gorgeous album with a beautiful juxtaposition between its first and second halves, with the rhythmic and intervallic genius of Tristano as an improviser on full display during the first half and the pianist as a supreme lyrical and swinging harmonist during the back half. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 090431653722
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)