LaVern Baker Precious Memories... Sings Gospel / LaVern Baker Sings Bessie Smith

Precious Memories... Sings Gospel / LaVern Baker
Get email alerts for LaVern Baker
6 ratings
WINTER SALE: $5.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6415
Brand New
Also available in a set:
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

LaVern Baker was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1991. She tackles, with all her verve, traditional hymns such as "Precious Memories" and "Just A Closer Walk With Thee", and then lets loose on Bessie Smith classics such as "Gimme a Pigfoot", "Empty Bed Blues" and more. Twenty-four tracks in all.


  • 1.Precious Memories
  • 2.Carrying The Cross For My Boss
  • 3.Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  • 4.Touch Me, Lord Jesus
  • 5.Didn't It Rain
  • 6.Previous Lord
  • 7.Somebody Touched Me
  • 8.In The Upper Room
  • 9.Journey To The Sky
  • 10.Everytime I Feel The Spirit
  • 11.Too Close
  • 12.Without A God
  • 13.Gimme A Pig Foot
  • 14.Baby Doll
  • 15.On Revival Day
  • 16.Money Blues
  • 17.I Ain't Gonna Play No Second Fiddle
  • 18.Back Water Blues
  • 19.Empty Bed Blues
  • 20.There'll Be A Hot Time In The Old Town Tonight
  • 21.Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
  • 22.After You've Gone
  • 23.Young Woman's Blues
  • 24.Preaching The Blues

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Gary Kramer & Charles Edward Smith.
Personnel: Danny Barker (guitar); Paul Quinichette (tenor saxophone); Jerome Richardson, Sahib Shihab (baritone saxophone); Buck Clayton (trumpet); Jimmy Cleveland, Urbie Green, Vic Dickenson (trombone); Nat Pierce (piano).
Liner Note Authors: Gary Kramer; Charles Edward Smith.
Lavern Baker praises the Lord on one hand ("Journey to the Sky" and "Just a Closer Walk With Thee") and tributes Bessie Smith on the other ("Empty Bed Blues" and "Gimme a Pigfoot [And a Bottle of Beer]") on the same CD. Baker's splendid vocals and superlative productions and arrangements make this contrasting gospel and blues union work. ~ Andrew Hamilton

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
PRECIOUS MEMORIES Music Lover: from Manchester, MD US -- October, 29, 2004

LaVern Baker is a very good artist, who's voice style almost reminds me of Dorothy Love Coates.

I listen to the Gospel side of the CD more than the jazz, but overall, it's all very good. On the Gospel songs, she is backed by one of my favorite male vocalist, Alex Bradford, and his group.

Pretty cool CD!

Collectables Records
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 15,936
  • UPC: 090431641521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)