Nina Simone Amazing Nina Simone / Nina Simone At Town Hall

Amazing Nina Simone / Nina Simone At Town Hall
Get email alerts for Nina Simone
11 ratings
SALE: $7.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $6.99 (47% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 6206
on most orders of $50+
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: COLPIX SCP-407 (1959)
  • Original Album #2: COLPIX SCP-409 (1959)

Description by

As her album title says, Nina Simone is truly the amazing Nina. A classically trained pianist, Simone is comfortable singing and performing jazz, blues, gospel, R&B and pop music. She's also an exhilarating live performer as you'll hear in her Town Hall appearance. This album is one of our bestselling, and most-loved releases!


  • 1.Blue Prelude
  • 2.Children Go Where I Send You
  • 3.Tomorrow (We Will Meet Once More)
  • 4.Stompin' At The Savoy
  • 5.It Might As Well Be Spring
  • 6.You've Been Gone Too Long
  • 7.That's Him Over There
  • 8.Chilly Winds Don't Blow
  • 9.Theme From "Middle Of The Night"
  • 10.Can't Get Out Of This Mood
  • 11.Willow Weep For Me
  • 12.Solitaire
  • 13.Black Is The Color Of My True Love's Hair
  • 14.Exactly Like You
  • 15.Other Woman
  • 16.Under The Lowest
  • 17.I Don't Want Him (Anymore)
  • 18.Summertime (Instrumental)
  • 19.Summertime - (vocal)
  • 20.Cotton-Eyed Joe
  • 21.Return Home
  • 22.Wild Is The Wind
  • 23.Fine And Mellow

Product Description:

Also available as part of the Collectables box THE LEGEND AT HER BEST.
Includes liner notes by David Nathan.
Personnel includes: Nina Simone (vocals).
Personnel includes: Nina Simone (vocals).
Recorded live at Town Hall, New York, New York on September 15, 1959.
Liner Note Author: David Nathan .
A good and sensible single-disc reissue of two early Simone albums, both recorded in the late '50s and both among her more jazz-oriented outings. The Amazing Nina Simone, a 1959 studio LP, is rather on the pop and standards side of things, with cuts like "It Might as Well Be Spring," "Willow Weep for Me," and "Stompin' at the Savoy," but that's not to its detriment. The mood is varied, with some sad orchestral arrangements that would have made these suitable for theater or movie productions; upbeat gospel on "Children Go Where I Send You" and "Chilly Winds Don't Blow"; and quite respectable upbeat jazz on "You've Been Gone Too Long." The live At Town Hall, recorded in September 1959, is unorchestrated and more spontaneous, and puts the accent more on Simone's fine, even, stirring piano playing. Here again, Simone evidences her determination to have the most eclectic repertoire of anyone around with standards like "Exactly Like You," traditional folk tunes such as "Black Is the Color of My True Love," and Billie Holiday's "Fine and Mellow." Most interesting, perhaps, are the several forceful instrumentals in which Simone really gets down, hammering the notes or trilling delicately as the mood takes her, quite audibly grunt-humming along as she gets absorbed in the music. The production on both of these LPs is rather uneven and undernourished from a technical standpoint, with odd echoes and balances throughout. If anything, though, that dated feel embellishes the unusual moods which Simone excelled at creating. ~ Richie Unterberger

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431620625
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)