Get email alerts for Phineas Newborn, Jr.
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $6.99 (54% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6530
Brand New

CD Details

  • Liner Notes: George Wein
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Atlantic 1235 (1958)

Description by

This Atlantic session was the recording debut for 24-year old Phineas Newborn, the remarkable jazz pianist oft compared to Oscar Peterson. On this album, he's backed by Oscar Pettiford on bass, Kenny Clarke on drum and Calvin Newborn on guitar. Includes original liner notes written by George Wein.


  • 1.Barbados
  • 2.All The Things You Are
  • 3.The More I See You
  • 4.Celia
  • 5.Dahoud
  • 6.Newport Blues
  • 7.I'm Beginning To See The Light
  • 8.Afternoon In Paris

Product Description:

Personnel: Phineas Newborn, Jr. (piano); Calvin Newborn (guitar); Oscar Pettiford (bass); Kenny Clarke (drums).
Reissue producers: Donald Elfman, Naomi Yoshii.
Recorded in New York, New York on May 3 & 4, 1956. Originally released on Atlantic (1235). Includes liner notes by George Wein.
All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology.
Other than two numbers cut for the Progressive label in Houston a couple years earlier (and thus far never reissued), this Atlantic session (put out as a Koch CD in 1999) was the recording debut for the remarkable Phineas Newborn. The 24-year-old pianist's playing on this trio/quartet date with bassist Oscar Pettiford and drummer Kenny Clarke (and occasionally guitarist Calvin Newborn) is virtuosic to say the least, on Oscar Peterson's level if not Art Tatum's. Newborn rips through the repertoire (which is highlighted by "Barbados," "Celia," "Daahoud," and "Afternoon in Paris"); try to tap your foot to "Celia" without breaking your ankle! In the liner notes, George Wein faults Newborn's tendency to double time the ballads, and some listeners may shake their heads at his constant outpouring of technically impossible runs (those speedy octaves are ridiculous) -- but if one has chops on this level, one should feel free to display them. This is a dazzling debut from an ill-fated but classic pianist, and this CD is a gem. ~ Scott Yanow
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 39,291
  • UPC: 090431653029
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)