"Weird Al" Yankovic The Essential Weird Al Yankovic (2-CD)

Mojo (Publisher): 4 stars out of 5 -- "[H]e ensured rock didn't take itself too seriously."
Get email alerts for "Weird Al" Yankovic
42 ratings
Price: $14.50
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  XDEW
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: October 18, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Sony Legacy

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.121
4 stars out of 5 -- "[H]e ensured rock didn't take itself too seriously."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Another One Rides the Bus - (live)
  • 2.Polkas on 45
  • 3.Eat It
  • 4.I Lost on Jeopardy
  • 5.Yoda
  • 6.One More Minute
  • 7.Like a Surgeon
  • 8.Dare to Be Stupid
  • 9.Dog Eat Dog
  • 10.Lasagna
  • 11.Melanie
  • 12.Fat
  • 13.UHF
  • 14.The Biggest Ball of Twine in Minnesota
  • 15.Trigger Happy
  • 16.Smells Like Nirvana
  • 17.You Don't Love Me Anymore
  • 18.Bedrock Anthem
  • 19.Frank's 2000" TV
  • 20.Jurassic Park

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Since You've Been Gone
  • 2.Amish Paradise
  • 3.Gump
  • 4.Everything You Know is Wrong
  • 5.The Night Santa Went Crazy [Extra Gory Version]
  • 6.Your Horoscope for Today
  • 7.It's All About the Pentiums
  • 8.The Saga Begins
  • 9.Albuquerque
  • 10.eBay
  • 11.Bob
  • 12.Hardware Store
  • 13.I'll Sue Ya
  • 14.Canadian Idiot
  • 15.Pancreas
  • 16.Don't Download This Song
  • 17.White & Nerdy
  • 18.Trapped in the Drive-Thru

Product Description:

Lyricist: Weird Al Yankovic.
Personnel: Weird Al Yankovic (vocals, harmonica, accordion, kazoo, piano, toy piano, harpsichord, keyboards, vibraphone, hand claps, background vocals); Steve Jay (vocals, bass voice, banjo, flute, bass synthesizer, hand claps, background vocals); Jon "Bermuda" Schwartz (vocals, slide whistle, kazoo, drums, congas, bongos, claves, cowbells, cymbals, maracas, shaker, tambourine, timpani, wood block, hand claps, bells, sleigh bell, chimes, drum programming, sound effects, siren); Jim Self (vocals, tuba, hand claps); Natasha Barr (vocals); Jim West (guitar, acoustic guitar, banjo, mandolin, ukulele, hand claps, keyboard programming, background vocals); Rick Derringer (guitar); Sarah O'Brien (cello); Will Anderson (harmonica); Joel Peskin (clarinet); Tom Evans (saxophone); Gary Herbig (baritone saxophone); Lee Thornburg (trumpet, trombone); Tavis Werts, Warren Luening (trumpet); Jon "JD" Dickson (French horn); Dan Regan, Nick Lane (trombone); Tommy Johnson (tuba); Ruben Valtierra (piano, keyboards); Pat Regan (piano, synthesizer); Brad Buxer (keyboards, synthesizer, programming); Kim Bullard (keyboards, synthesizer); Jon Joyce , Jim Haas, Jerry Whitman, Damaskas, Lisa Popeil, Gene Morford (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Tony Papa.
Liner Note Authors: Stephen Thompson; Stephen Thompson.
Photographers: Dennis Keeley; Jon Schwartz; Carl Studna; Kirk Weddle; Michael Blackwell; Mark Seliger; Johnny Buzzerio; Denise Olderr; Sam Emerson; Jonathan Schwartz.
Arranger: Weird Al Yankovic.
More times than not, Columbia/Legacy's Essential collections are stellar overviews. Boasting a two-and-a-half-hour running time and 38 songs hand-picked by Al himself, THE ESSENTIAL "WEIRD AL" YANKVIC is yet another well-executed title in the series. Encompassing 12 albums, the double-disc set starts from the beginning of Al's career, with "Another One Rides the Bus," his live "Another One Bites the Dust" parody from the Dr. Demento show in 1980, and it gradually chronicles up to the R. Kelly-influenced "Trapped in the Drive-Thru" from 2006's STRAIGHT OUTA LYNWOOD. Most of Al's big parodies are highlighted here ("Eat It," "I Lost on Jeopardy," "Yoda," "Like a Surgeon," "Fat") -- as well as some choice deep cuts, like the ripping accordion medley "Polkas on 45," the opening theme from UHF, and a smattering of absurd originals ("Albuquerque," "Dare to Be Stupid," "You Don't Love Me Anymore," and "The Biggest Ball of Twine in Minnesota"). All of these could be deemed essential for fans, but nitpickers will wonder about the whereabouts of "Ricky," "Money for Nothing/Beverly Hillbillies," and two of Yankovic's best food parodies, "My Bologna" and "I Love Rocky Road." These songs aside, not much is missing, considering the depth of his discography. The exhaustive four-disc PERMANENT RECORD has 50 songs, but it stops at 1994. Al may have hit a rocky patch for a spell toward the turn of the millennium, but he had some of his best work just after, including the geeky rap satires "Amish Paradise," "It's All About the Pentiums," and "White & Nerdy." For nostalgic fans who just want a quick taste of the '80s, GREATEST HITS is the best bet, but those seeking a deep-rooted summary that's both comprehensive and extensive should look no further than this.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 23,917
  • UPC: 886975854325
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)