Tommy Dorsey I'm Getting Sentimental Over You (3-CD)

I'm Getting Sentimental Over You (3-CD)
Get email alerts for Tommy Dorsey
3 ratings
WINTER SALE: $29.95 Limited Time Only
List Price: $49.97
You Save: $20.02 (40% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 6 copies left
Format:  CD  (3 Discs)
sku:  COL 0276
on most orders of $50+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2003
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

A spectacular collection of Tommy Dorsey and His Orchestra at a spectacular price. This 3-CD set features the albums That Sentimental Gentleman, This is Tommy Dorsey and His Orchestra, Volume 1 and This is Tommy Dorsey and His Orchestra, Volume 2.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Introduction: Margie
  • 2.Hawaiian War Chant
  • 3.Blues No More
  • 4.Medley: My Melancholy Baby, Time On My Hands, I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 5.Zonky
  • 6.You Can Depend On Me
  • 7.Yearning
  • 8.I'll Take Talullah
  • 9.Medley: The Eyes And Ears Of The World (Paramount On Parade), Just A Melody For A Memory
  • 10.Hallelujah
  • 11.I Never Knew
  • 12.Old Black Joe
  • 13.Medley: Song Of India, Marie
  • 14.Exactly Like You
  • 15.And The Angels Sing
  • 16.How Am I To Know
  • 17.Heat Wave
  • 18.Quiet Please
  • 19.Sinatra's Farewell To Band And Introduction Of Dick Haymes, The Song Is You
  • 20.Daybreak
  • 21.Mandy
  • 22.Perfidia
  • 23.Well, Git It!
  • 24.Swanee River
  • 25.Blue Blazes

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.I'm Gettin' Sentimental Over You
  • 2.Star Dust
  • 3.Marie
  • 4.Song Of India
  • 5.Once In A While
  • 6.Josephine
  • 7.The Lady Is A Tramp
  • 8.Who?
  • 9.Music, Maestro, Please
  • 10.Boogie Woogie
  • 11.Hawaiian War Chant
  • 12.I'll Be Seeing You
  • 13.East Of The Sun (And West Of The Moon)
  • 14.I'll Never Smile Again
  • 15.Whispering
  • 16.Our Love Affair
  • 17.Street Of Dreams
  • 18.There Are Such Things
  • 19.Opus One (Sy Oliver)
  • 20.On The Sunny Side Of The Street

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.That's A Plenty
  • 2.After You've Gone
  • 3.Beale Street Blues
  • 4.Night And Day
  • 5.Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • 6.Milenberg Joys
  • 7.Tea For Two
  • 8.The One I Love
  • 9.For You
  • 10.This Love Of Mine
  • 11.Blue Skies
  • 12.Hallelujah!
  • 13.What Is This Thing Called Love?
  • 14.Well, Git It!
  • 15.Chicago
  • 16.Chloe (Song Of The Swamp)
  • 17.Why Do I Love You
  • 18.It's Delovely
  • 19.I Get A Kick Out Of You

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Tommy Dorsey (trombone); Frank Sinatra, Jo Stafford, Jack Leonard, Edythe Wright, Dick Haymes, The Pied Pipers (vocals); Bunny Berigan (trumpet); Buddy Rich (drums).
Originally released on RCA Records.
Personnel: Tommy Dorsey (vocals, trombone); Connie Haines, Dick Haymes, Frank Sinatra, Jo Stafford, Stuart Foster, Sy Oliver, The Pied Pipers, Sentimentalists (vocals); Benny Heller, Clark Yocum, William Schaffer, Robert Bain, Sam Herman, Carmen Mastren (guitar); Ruth Hill (harp); Sam Ross, Leonard Atkins (violin, viola); Manny Fidler, Leonard Posner, Bernie Tinterow, Irving Raymond, Seymour Miroff, Joseph Goodman, Peter Dimitriades, Ruth Rubinstein Goodman, William Ehrenkranz, Alex Beller, Raoul Poliakin (violin); Dave Uchitel, Milton Thomas (viola); Harold Bemko, Fred Camelia (cello); Johnny Mince (clarinet, reeds, saxophone); Heine Beau, Boniface "Buddy" DeFranco, Joe Dixon , Walter Levinsky (clarinet, saxophone); Paul Mason , Don Lodice, Hymie Schertzer, Fred Stulce (reeds, saxophone); Albert Klink, Sid Block, Babe Fresk, Dave Harris , Irving Rassin, Henry Bean, Gail Curtis, Bruce Darwin Branson, Harry Steinfeld, Mike Doty, Harry Schuchman, Bob Bunch, Bruce Snyder, Manny Gershman, Nick Caiazza, Abraham Richman, Hugo Loewenstern, Clyde Rounds, Deane Kincaide, Sid Cooper, Sol Schlinger, Babe Russin, Arthur "Skeets" Herfurt, Les Robinson, Bud Freeman (saxophone); Andrew Ferretti, Clyde Hurley, Jimmy Welch, Cy Baker, Dale Pearce, Doc Severinsen, Roger Norv Ellick, James J. Amoroso, James "Jimmy" Blake, C. F. Cherock, Sam Skolnick, Charlie Peterson, James Zito, Stan Stout, Gerald Goff, Bob Cusmano, Al Stearns, Steve Lipkins, Lee Castaldo, Paul McCoy, Leon Debrow, Pee Wee Irwin, Sam Kolnick, George Seaberg, Vito Mangano, Joe Bauer , Lee Castle, Max Kaminsky, Pee Wee Erwin, Ray Linn, Ray Wetzel, Yank Lawson, Ziggy Elman, Mickey Mangano, Bunny Berigan, Charlie Shavers (trumpet); Richard L. Noel, Angie Callea, W. T. Pritchard, Bill Hallar, Moe Zudecoff, James Skiles, George Arus, Ben Pickering, Walter Mercurio, Ward Silloway , Elmer Smithers, Karl de Karske, Red Bone, Les Jenkins, David Jacobs, Lowell Martin, Nelson Riddle, Nick Dimaio, Earle H. Hagen, Bill Schallen, Walter Benson (trombone); Joseph Park (tuba); Milton W. Raskin, Dick Jones , Howard Smith , Gebe Kutch, Joe Bushkin, Johnny Potoker (piano, celesta); Milt Golden, Bob Kitsis (piano); Dave Tough, Moe Purtill, Alvin Stoller, Buddy Rich (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Arnold Shaw; George T. Simon.
Recording information: 09/26/1935-01/04/1950.
Arranger: Tommy Dorsey .
Collectables wrapped a thin cardboard slipcase around three of their single-disc Tommy Dorsey compilations to create the three-disc box set I'm Getting Sentimental Over You. The collected importance of the remote-broadcasts collection That Sentimental Gentleman, along with a two-volume set of greatest hits (This Is Tommy Dorsey & His Orchestra, Vol. 1, This Is Tommy Dorsey & His Orchestra, Vol. 2) lends itself well to this sort of compilation. Collectables' prices are usually cheap, and this set has over three hours of great music from Tommy Dorsey & His Orchestra. ~ John Bush

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Tommy At The Top! Music Lover: from HACKETTSTOWN, NJ US -- February, 4, 2015

A good retrospective of this great band on recordings and live broadcasts.

Collectables Records
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 39,480
  • UPC: 090431027622
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 3 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)