Electric Light Orchestra All Over the World: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra

Get email alerts for Electric Light Orchestra
81 ratings
Price: $8.20
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  359J4
Brand New
Holiday Ordering Guidelines: Delivery in the US by December 24th
for Economy Shipping
for Fast 'N Cheap Shipping
for Premium (1-5 Days) Shipping
for Premium (USPS 1-3 Days) Shipping
Products with a similar style:

CD Details

  • Released: August 2, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Sony

Description by OLDIES.com:

The Electric Light Orchestra combined huge musical ambition with incredible pop smarts in a unique, idiosyncratic and brilliant fashion. With Jeff Lynne firmly at the helm, ELO shot for the moon musically. All Over the World: The Very Best of Electric Light Orchestra contains fifteen Top 40 hits along with other fan favorites from a band whose stellar career spanned some fifteen years.


  • 1.Mr. Blue Sky
  • 2.Evil Woman
  • 3.Don't Bring Me Down
  • 4.Sweet Talkin' Woman
  • 5.Shine A Little Love
  • 6.Turn To Stone
  • 7.The Diary Of Horace Wimp
  • 8.Confusion
  • 9.Hold On Tight
  • 10.Livin' Thing
  • 11.Telephone Line
  • 12.All Over The World
  • 13.Wild West Hero
  • 14.Showdown
  • 15.Ma-Ma-Ma Belle
  • 16.Xanadu
  • 17.Rockaria!
  • 18.Strange Music
  • 19.Alright
  • 20.Rock 'N' Roll Is King

Product Description:

Electric Light Orchestra: Jeff Lynne (vocals, guitar); Bev Bevan.
Liner Note Author: Jeff Lynne.
Photographers: Michael Putland; Ian Dickson; Gary Merrin; Fin Costello.
Although there's no shortage of Electric Light Orchestra collections on the market, 2005's ALL OVER THE WORLD finds the middle ground between 1995's extensive two-disc STRANGE MAGIC set and 2003's THE ESSENTIAL ELO. Except for the baffling omission of "Can't Get It Out of My Head," the majority of the British band's majestic 1970s pop hits are here. This disc's real service, however, is its inclusion of lesser-known selections, including "The Diary of Horace Wimp" (from 1979's DISCOVERY)--which is, along with the epic "Mr. Blue Sky," one of the group's finest Beatlesque tunes--and the soaring title song (from the XANADU soundtrack).
Throughout the compilation, bandleader Jeff Lynne's brilliantly layered production and keen sense of popcraft are more than evident, particularly on the deft, unbelievably catchy disco/rock hybrids "Evil Woman," "Turn to Stone," and "Shine a Little Love." The non-chronological order and lack of individual song dates here can be frustrating, but ALL OVER THE WORLD attempts to make up for this by featuring liner notes by Lynne himself. In most respects, this 20-track collection trumps THE ESSENTIAL ELO, making it an excellent starting point for newcomers to the glorious pop sounds of Electric Light Orchestra.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 81 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Amazing collection of killer cuts Music Lover: from Gulf Shores, AL -- August, 5, 2005

The sonic excellence of this newly released single disc gem is truly stunning and spectacular. This collection of 15 of ELO's most-loved American Top 40 hits, plus 5 other outstanding album track favorites, is a stellar compedium that will be a great intro to ELO for the uninitiated and a welcome blast of nostalgia for the longtime afficianado. ELO's sound is an innovative and irresistable blend of the Beatles with orchestral grandeur and synth-pop sensibility. Whether one longs for classics like the bubbly "Mr. Blue Sky" or the funky "Evil Woman"--or hits from other nations such as the wistfully cinematic "Wild West Hero" and the madcap Sgt. Pepperesque "Diary of Horace Wimp"--it's all here. There are even two recent tracks, the re-recorded "Xanadu" and "Alright" from 2001's ZOOM project. The graphics are very nice and you'll enjoy Jeff Lynne's warm liner notes. This is a MUST HAVE for fans of prog-pop ear candy.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 457
  • UPC: 827969448922
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)