Don Gibson The Singer, The Songwriter 1961-1966 (4-CD Box Set)

The Singer, The Songwriter 1961-1966 (4-CD Box
Get email alerts for Don Gibson
3 ratings
Sale: $112.49
List Price: $124.99
You Save: $20.38 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  D4H2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: June 15, 1993
  • Originally Released: 1993
  • Label: Bear Family

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Sweet Dreams
  • 2.I Think It's Best (To Forget Me)
  • 3.That's How It Goes
  • 4.Sea of Heartbreak
  • 5.No One Will Ever Know
  • 6.Born to Lose
  • 7.Beautiful Dreamer
  • 8.Camptown Races
  • 9.Fireball Mail
  • 10.The Last Letter
  • 11.White Silver Sands
  • 12.Driftwood on the River
  • 13.Lonesome Road
  • 14.Above and Beyond
  • 15.Cute Little Girls
  • 16.I Sat Back and Let It Happen
  • 17.I Know the Score
  • 18.The Same Old Trouble
  • 19.So How Come (No One Loves Me)
  • 20.Lonesome Number One
  • 21.Let's Fall Out of Love (Tonight)
  • 22.I Let Her Get Lonely
  • 23.I Can Mend Your Broken Heart
  • 24.For a Little While
  • 25.That's How It Goes
  • 26.It Makes No Difference Now
  • 27.Settin' the Woods on Fire
  • 28.Baby We're Really in Love
  • 29.I Love You So Much It Hurts
  • 30.It's a Sin
  • 31.I'm Sorry For You My Friend

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.This Cold War With You
  • 2.Where Is Your Heart Tonight
  • 3.Blue Dream
  • 4.How's the World Treating You
  • 5.May You Never Be Alone
  • 6.We Live in Two Different Worlds
  • 7.Old Ship of Zion
  • 8.Then I Met the Master
  • 9.I'd Rather Have Jesus
  • 10.Be Ready
  • 11.I Can't See Myself
  • 12.For Old Times Sake (Don't Break the Heart Today)
  • 13.It Was Worth It All
  • 14.Head Over Heels in Love With You
  • 15.I Can't Stop Loving You
  • 16.Legend in My Time, A (I'd Be)
  • 17.Give Myself a Party
  • 18.Oh Lonesome Me
  • 19.Don't Tell Me Your Troubles
  • 20.Love Has Come My Way
  • 21.Lonesome Number One
  • 22.Blue Blue Day
  • 23.Just One Time
  • 24.Oh Such a Stranger
  • 25.After the Heartache
  • 26.Anything New Gets Old (Except My Love For You)
  • 27.God Walks These Hills
  • 28.Do You Know My Jesus
  • 29.Hide Me, Rock of Ages
  • 30.Where Else Would I Want to Be?
  • 31.If I Can Help Somebody

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.He's Everywhere
  • 2.You Don't Knock
  • 3.When They Ring the Golden Bells
  • 4.There She Goes (Let Her Go)
  • 5.If You Knew Me
  • 6.If You Don't Know the Sorrow
  • 7.Mixed up Love
  • 8.There She Goes (Let Her Go)
  • 9.Think of Me
  • 10.'Cause I Believe in You
  • 11.Then I'll Be Free
  • 12.Love That Can't Be, A (All For the Sake of)
  • 13.Waltz of Regret
  • 14.When Your House Is Not a Home
  • 15.Watch Where You're Going
  • 16.You're Going Away
  • 17.Again
  • 18.Too Much Hurt
  • 19.A Born Loser
  • 20.A Wound Time Can't Erase
  • 21.Around the Town
  • 22.I'm Crying Inside
  • 23.Dark as a Dungeon
  • 24.Right Away
  • 25.Lovin' Lies
  • 26.All the World Is Lonely Now
  • 27.When Your House Is Not a Home
  • 28.Worried Mind
  • 29.There's a Big Wheel
  • 30.Take These Chains From My Heart
  • 31.Singing the Blues

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.With Your Love on My Mind
  • 2.Address Unknown
  • 3.My Adobe Hacienda
  • 4.Lonely Street
  • 5.Cryin' Heart Blues
  • 6.I Can't Tell My Heart That
  • 7.I'm Hurting (Yes)
  • 8.My Whole World Is Hurt
  • 9.You Can't Laugh (At a Fool)
  • 10.My Tomorrows (They Don't Come Easy)
  • 11.Don't You Ever Get Tired (Of Hurting Me)
  • 12.Once a Day
  • 13.My Friends Are Gonna Be Strangers
  • 14.Vaya con Dios
  • 15.Just Call Me Lonesome
  • 16.With Your Love on My Mind
  • 17.A Stranger to Me
  • 18.I Can't Tell My Heart That
  • 19.Maria Elena
  • 20.Blues in My Mind
  • 21.Making Believe
  • 22.Somebody Loves You Darlin'
  • 23.I'd Just Be Fool Enough
  • 24.Lost Highway
  • 25.Let's Fall Out of Love
  • 26.I Thought I Heard You Calling My Name
  • 27.Don't Touch Me
  • 28.How Do You Tell Someone
  • 29.Just Out of Reach
  • 30.When I Stop Dreaming

Product Description:

Includes an LP-sized booklet.
This is an absolutely stunning collection of essential Don Gibson material from his greatest years as both a songwriter and as a recording artist. Germany's Bear Family label has assembled four discs containing a total of 122 performances with many alternate takes, B-sides and previously unissued recordings. Some of the folks who performed with Gibson on these sides were arranger Danny Davis, the Anita Kerr Singers, Floyd Cramer, the Jordanaires, Pete Drake, Chet Atkins, Roy Huskey Jr., Grady Martin, Herman Wade, and many more. This is countrypolitan at its best. These were golden years for country music as pop, and Gibson rode the charts like a lion at the beginning of the '60s brining the folksiness and writing acumen of Hank Williams and Leon Payne, the smooth vocalizing of Jim Reeves, and the sheer stylized image of the lonesome rambler who is always glad to see a new face as he travels. Gibson's biggest tunes are here, from "Sweet Dreams," and "Oh Lonesome Me," to "For a Little While," to "I Can't Stop Loving You," that Ray Charles scored so big with. But in his own interpretations of songs by Williams, Floyd Tillman, Stephen Foster, youngsters Tompall Glaser and Doug Kershaw, Boudleaux Bryant and Payne, the public found a singer they could identify with. No matter how slick the production, Gibson's voice came through as earthy. Warm and immediate. For anyone truly interested in Gibson, this set is a must. ~ Thom Jurek
Bear Family Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 4000127156648
  • Shipping Weight: 1.76/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)