COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!
Get email alerts for Bobby Bare
5 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $6.97 Limited Time Only
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $1.01 (13% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 8444
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Sony BMG Music A-46961 (2003)

Description by

A budget-priced collection of favorites from Bobby Bare. All original recordings.


  • 1.Detroit City
  • 2.Marie Laveau
  • 3.Just To Satisfy You
  • 4.500 Miles Away From Home
  • 5.Miller's Cave
  • 6.The Streets Of Baltimore
  • 7.It's Alright
  • 8.Four Strong Winds
  • 9.The Piney Wood Hills
  • 10.Delia's Gone

Product Description:

As these budget compilations go, musically this isn't a bad one, though it is sloppy and poorly packaged. There are ten classic Bobby Bare cuts here, including his versions of Mel Tillis' "Detroit City," Shel Silverstein's "Marie Laveau," and Steve Young's "Just to Satisfy You." In addition, there are Bare's now-signature reads of "Streets of Baltimore," "Four Strong Winds," and "Miller's Cave." They included "Delia's Gone," though it no longer belongs to him, but to Johnny Cash, as well as "500 Miles Home," and another pair. What becomes immediately apparent is that Bare is the one singer who is able to walk the line between country and folk music without tipping to either side -- even more so than Waylon Jennings did in the early 1960s -- and that his delivery is unlike any other vocalist's before or since. The problem here is that given the budget nature of this comp, none of these tracks have been remastered, the package sucks, none of the Columbia material is here, and there is no extra information given. But for the price, it's a cool little set of Bare tunes recorded for RCA.. ~ Thom Jurek
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 41,526
  • UPC: 090431844427
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)