Poncho Sanchez Trane's Delight

Get email alerts for Poncho Sanchez
Price: $15.40
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $0.58 (4% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
11 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  6W6D2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 20, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019
  • Label: Concord Records


  • 1.Soul Bourgeoisie
  • 2.Liberia
  • 3.The Feeling of Jazz
  • 4.Giant Steps
  • 5.Si Te Dicen
  • 6.Sube
  • 7.Blue Train
  • 8.Yam'mote
  • 9.Poncho Sanchez Medley No. 2: Baile Mi Gente / El Sabroso / El Shing-A-Ling
  • 10.Trane's Delight
  • 11.Todo Termino

Product Description:

Personnel: Poncho Sanchez (vocals, congas, percussion); Robert Hardt (flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Ron Blake (trumpet, flugelhorn); Francisco Torres (trombone, background vocals); Andy Langham (piano); Giancarlo Anderson (bongos, percussion); Joey De Leon, Jr. (timbales, percussion, background vocals); Rene Camacho (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Jose Carrillo.
Liner Note Author: Ashley Kahn.
Recording information: The Evelyn and Mo Ostin Music Center; The UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music.
Photographers: Estevan Oriol; Bill Bungard; Emily Miao.
Arranger: Francisco Torres.
In 1962, Poncho Sanchez purchased the album Coltrane on Impulse. He was 14. It was the first album he'd bought with his own money. He'd been under the saxophonist's spell for years, listening to him on the radio in Los Angeles. Trane's Delight, the first album by Sanchez in seven years, is a thank you, a tribute to one of his musical pillars. Issued by Concord, the conguero's home since 1982, the date is a heartfelt homage to the saxophonist's influence as well as a seamless extension of Sanchez's signature brand of Latin jazz.
The 11-track set features Sanchez's longtime band: trombonist and musical director Francisco Torres, trumpet and fl?gelhorn master Ron Blake, saxophonist Robert Hardt, pianist Andy Langham, bassists Rene Camacho and Ross Schodek, and percussionists Joey DeLeon and Giancarlo Anderson. There are three Coltrane tunes here -- "Liberia," "Blue Train," and "Giant Steps" -- as well as a Latinized read of Duke Ellington's "The Feeling of Jazz," from 1963's Duke Ellington and John Coltrane. Sanchez takes insightful and wide liberties with the material. In his liner notes, jazz historian and author Ashley Khan argues that this is just as it should be given the saxophonist's boundary-extending example. "Giant Steps" is offered as a spirited mambo with dueling percussion and a complex horn chart structured in staggered rhythms. "Liberia" is delivered as hard-swinging, spiritual, Afro-Cuban hard bop, with fiery montunos from Langham and a burning trombone solo by Torres. "Blue Train" is a deep-hued cha-cha. The latter comes across as a bluesy swagger that gives way to Hardt's sweet-toned alto in a sprightly bebop vernacular, and the up-mixed percussion section percolates right alongside it. But Sanchez offers his own Latin jazz nod to 'Trane with the band's reading of Hubert Laws' "Soul Bourgeoise" -- immortalized by the conguero's early idols the Jazz Crusaders on 1965's landmark Chile con Soul. It' a funky cha cha with a roiling tenor solo from Hardt. "Si Te Dicen" is a rich, silky bolero that juxtaposes the Joe Cuba Sextet version with Coltrane's warm ballad style. Langham's "Sube" melds mambo, salsa, modal jazz, and post-bop in a glorious stew, with Sanchez and the percussionists nodding at the influence of Mongo Santamaria. The other originals from Sanchez and Torres include "Yam'mote," a smoking salsa blues with fine soloing from the trombonist and "Poncho Sanchez's Medley #2" -- "Baila Me Gente," "El Sabroso," and "El Shing-A-Ling" -- which offer seamless, impeccably arranged salsa with fine singing by Sanchez and a wondrous flute break by Hardt. The title cut readily references the bop frame of Tadd Dameron's "Our Delight" inside a hard-hitting mambo. The closer is a modernized read of Bobby Manrique's sparkling salsa "Todo Termino" (it appeared on a Sammy Gonzalez y Los Torbellinos album from 1978), with gorgeous vocals from Norell Thomas. Trane's Delight is savvy, sophisticated, and funky: a personal tribute that reveals the joy offered by Coltrane's inspiration. More, it is a welcome return for Sanchez, a jazz giant and creative inspiration in his own right. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 25,448
  • UPC: 888072109889
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)