Buddy Moss Atlanta Blues Legend

Down Beat: 3 Stars - Good - "A master of the Piedmont blues style and a songwriter of note..."
Get email alerts for Buddy Moss
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $6.99 (54% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6950
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: September 4, 2007
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Buddy Moss, along with Blind Blake and Blind Boy Fuller, was one of the most influential East Coast guitarists of the 30's. Moss' style derived from his uncommon skill and dexterity. This substantial compilation has some of his best, including "Red River", "Kansas City" and "Oh Lawdy Mama". From the archives of Biograph Records.

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 1/96, p.49
3 Stars - Good - "A master of the Piedmont blues style and a songwriter of note..."
Living Blues - 3-4/96, p.108
"...fans of his warm, intimate brand of East Coast blues will find this disc to be a valuable addition to his too-slim discography..."


  • 1.Hurry Home
  • 2.Red River
  • 3.Pushin' It
  • 4.Comin' Back
  • 5.How I Feel Today
  • 6.That'll Never Happen No More
  • 7.Oh Lawdy Mama
  • 8.I'm Sitting On Top Of The World
  • 9.Kansas City
  • 10.It Was In The Weary Hour Night
  • 11.Chesterfield
  • 12.I've Got To Keep To The Highway
  • 13.Come On Around To My House
  • 14.Step It Up And G0
  • 15.Everyday Seems Like Sunday
  • 16.I Got A Woman, Don't Mean Me No Good
  • 17.Betty And Dupree
  • 18.Every Day, Every Day

Product Description:

ATLANTA BLUES LEGEND includes seven previously unreleased tracks.
Personnel includes: Buddy Moss (vocals, guitar, harmonica); Jeff Espina (guitar, harmonica); J.J. (guitar).
Personnel: Buddy Moss (guitar); J.J. (guitar); Jeff Espina (harmonica).
Recorded live on June 10, 1966 at a Washington, D.C. concert, this 11-song album (fleshed out to 18 numbers on CD with additional live tracks from elsewhere) was considered miraculous in its own time, and remains so. Moss' fingering was slowed only slightly from the ravages of time, and his voice had aged beautifully. He gets sympathetic harmonica accompaniment (some of it most impressive, especially on "Pushin' It") from Jeff Espina and occasional help (seemingly unneeded) from a second guitarist billed only as "J.J." Moss, who was then either 52 or 60 years old, rises to the occasion, turning in some dazzling acoustic guitar work (check out "Comin' Back"), very moving and expressive singing, and overall a performance that one can only guess is uncannily like the kind he would've done 30 years earlier. Included are fresh renditions of "Oh Lawdy Mama" and Moss' own, unique renditions of "I'm Sitting on Top of the World" and "Key to the Highway" (done as a guitar showcase that would put Eric Clapton and Duane Allman to shame, and referred to here as "I've Got to Keep to the Highway"). One of the most impressive, and maybe the best, of all '60s rediscovery records by any '30s blues star; 64 minutes of pure golden blues. ~ Bruce Eder
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 19,857
  • UPC: 090431695029
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)