Firefall Elan

Get email alerts for Firefall
11 ratings
Out of Print: Future availability is unknown
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  EWSS
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Atlantic 19183 (1978)

Description by

Formed by ex-Flying Burrito Brother Rick Roberts, country-rock band Firefall had a string of successful LP releases in the late 1970s. "Elan" (their third album) was released in 1978 and went platinum very shortly thereafter. It includes their hits "Strange Ways" and "Goodbye, I Love You."


  • 1.Strange Way
  • 2.Sweet And Sour
  • 3.Wrong Side Of Town
  • 4.Count Your Blessings
  • 5.Get You Back
  • 6.Anymore
  • 7.Baby
  • 8.Goodbye I Love You
  • 9.Sweet Ann
  • 10.Winds Of Change

Product Description:

Firefall: Larry Burnett (vocals, acoustic & electric guitars); Rick Roberts (vocals, acoustic guitar); Jock Bartley (acoustic, electric, slide & 12-string guitars, background vocals); David Muse (flute, saxophone, harmonica, piano, electric piano, Clavinet, organ, synthesizer); Mark Andes (bass, background vocals); Michael Clarke (drums).
Additional personnel: Jim Keltner (drums); Joe Lala (congas, timbales, cowbell, tambourine, triangle, guido); Steve Forman (shaker, tambourine, congas, cymbals, caxixi, surdo, crickets); Laura Taylor (background vocals).
Producers: Tom Dowd, Ron Albert, Howard Albert.
Recorded at Criteria Studios, Miami, Florida and The Record Plant, Los Angeles, California. Originally released on Atlantic (19183).
Personnel: Larry Burnett (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, background vocals); Rick Roberts (vocals, acoustic guitar, background vocals); Jock Bartley (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric 12-string guitar, slide guitar, background vocals); David Muse (flute, harmonica, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, piano, electric piano, Clavinet, organ, synthesizer); Mark Andes (bass guitar, background vocals); Jim Keltner, Michael Clarke (drums); Joe Lala (congas, cowbells, tambourine, timbales, triangle); Steve Forman (congas, cymbals, shaker, surdo, tambourine, caxixi).
Audio Mixers: Don Gehman; Howard Albert; Ron Albert.
Recording information: Criteria Studios, Miami, FL; Record Plant, Los Angeles, CA.
Photographer: Jim Houghton.
Unknown Contributor Role: Steve Forman .
Firefall crested with its third album, Elan, which was prefaced by "Strange Way," an unusually vituperative leadoff single from the group who had broken through with songs of romantic devotion like "You Are the Woman" and "Just Remember I Love You." This time, lead singer and songwriter Rick Roberts was unmoved by a weepy lover, calling her emotional outbursts, "a strange way to tell me you love me," and adding that, if she wanted to cry to somebody, "don't cry to me." The single, which peaked just outside the Top Ten, introduced a somewhat more aggressive album from Firefall that rocked a bit harder, notably on such tracks as "Anymore," and added a horn chart to the closing track, "Winds of Change." For the most part, however, the album's dominant tone was determined by Roberts' romantic anguish, further expressed on the second single, "Goodbye, I Love You," which scraped into the Top 40 on the pop charts and made the Top Ten on the adult contemporary charts. Elan itself enjoyed about the same chart success as its predecessor, Luna Sea, but ultimately sold a little better, reaching a million-seller certification and marking Firefall's commercial peak. ~ William Ruhlmann

Product Info

  • UPC: 090431632826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)