Max Roach Max Roach Trio Featuring The Legendary Hasaan / Drums Unlimited

Get email alerts for Max Roach
3 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6256
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1435 (1965)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1467 (1966)

Description by

Max Roach revolutionized the use of the drums, shifting the emphasis to the ride cymbal, thereby giving drummers the freedom to explore the possibilities of their instruments. Roach was always exploring new musical areas and was willing to explore new compositional structures, unusual time signatures, atonality, music for Broadway, television, films, symphony halls, and even rap well ahead of its day. "Drums" also features Freddie Hubbard on trumpet.


  • 1.3/4 Vs. 6/8 4/4 Ways
  • 2.Off My Back Jack
  • 3.Almost Like Me
  • 4.Dinka Street
  • 5.Pay Not, Play Not
  • 6.To Inscribe
  • 7.The Drum Also Waltzes
  • 8.Nommo
  • 9.Drums Unlimited
  • 10.St. Louis Blues
  • 11.For Big Sid
  • 12.In The Red (A Christmas Carol)

Product Description:

Includes liner notes by Alan Sukoenig and Nat Hentoff.
Max Roach Trio: Max Roach (drums); Hasaan (piano); Art Davis (bass).
Originally released on Atlantic (1435).
Personnel: Max Roach (drums); Roland Alexander (soprano saxophone); James Spaulding (alto saxophone); Freddie Hubbard (trumpet); Ronnie Matthews (piano); Jymie Merritt (bass).
Originally released on Atlantic (1467).
Liner Note Author: Nat Hentoff.
Recording information: 12/04/1964-04/25/1966.
This is a reissue of two classic Max Roach sessions recorded for Atlantic in the mid-'60s. Featuring the Legendary Hasaan (Hasaan Ibn Ali) is from 1965, and is the only recording ever made by this sadly neglected pianist. Drums Unlimited followed in 1966 with a stellar lineup of James Spaulding on alto sax, Freddie Hubbard on trumpet, Ronnie Mathews on piano, and Jymie Merritt on bass. Both are essential recordings under the leadership of this influential drummer, reissued together at a budget price from the Collectables label. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 423
  • UPC: 090431625620
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)