Trav'lin' Light / Merely Marvelous (with The Jimmy Lyon Trio)

Get email alerts for Jimmy Giuffre
4 ratings
SALE: $8.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $5.99 (40% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 7 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6249
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • The album "Trav'lin' Light" was originally released in 1958 as Atlantic 1282. "Merely Marvelous" was released in 1960 as Atlantic 1322.
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1282 (1958)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1322 (1960)

Description by

Jimmy Giuffre was an in-demand soprano, tenor, and baritone sax player, as well as a proficient flute and clarinet player. "Trav'lin' Light" also features Jim Hall and Bob Brookmeyer. Paired with this release is an album by singer Mabel Mercer. On this 1960 Atlantic album, Mercer is accompanied by the Jimmy Lyon Trio.


  • 1.Trav'lin' Light
  • 2.Swamp People
  • 3.Green Country (New England Mood)
  • 4.Forty Second Street
  • 5.Pickin' 'Em Up And Layin' 'Em Down
  • 6.Lonely Time
  • 7.Show Me The Way To Go Home
  • 8.California Here I Come
  • 9.Merely Marvelous
  • 10.Let's Begin
  • 11.All In Fun
  • 12.Fifth Of July
  • 13.Don't Dream Of Anybody But Me
  • 14.Round House Nellie
  • 15.Sell Me
  • 16.Love Wise
  • 17.Nobody Else But Me
  • 18.You're Nearer
  • 19.I Walk A Little Faster
  • 20.You Fascinate Me So

Product Description:

Jimmy Giuffre 3: Jimmy Giuffre (tenor & baritone saxophones, clarinet); Bob Brookmeyer (trombone); Jim Hall (guitar).
Originally released on Atlantic (1282). Includes original LP liner notes by Nat Hentoff.
Personnel: Mabel Mercer (vocals); Jimmy Lyon (piano); Jimmy Raney, Joe Puma (guitar); Beverly Peer (bass); Tim Kennedy (drums).
Originally released on Atlantic (1322). Includes original LP liner notes by Gary Kramer.
Personnel: Jimmy Giuffre (clarinet, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Jim Hall, Jimmy Raney, Joe Puma (guitar); Bob Brookmeyer (trombone); Jimmy Lyon (piano); Tim Kennedy (drums).
In 1999, Collectables released Trav'lin' Light/Merely Marvelous, which contained two complete albums -- Trav'lin' Light (1958, originally released on Atlantic) and Merely Marvelous (1960, originally released on Atlantic) -- by Jimmy Giuffre on one compact disc. ~ Jason Birchmeier
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 47,425
  • UPC: 090431624920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)