Chvrches The Bones of What You Believe

Rolling Stone: 4 stars out of 5 -- "BONES is full of incisive, sweeping songs made from last-ditch emotions."
Get email alerts for Chvrches
Price: $11.80
You Save: $0.18 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  6EXWD
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 22, 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Glassnote

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - p.87
4 stars out of 5 -- "BONES is full of incisive, sweeping songs made from last-ditch emotions."
Entertainment Weekly - p.65
"[The album] provides plenty of charmingly straightforward indie-disco pleasures." -- Grade: B
Q (Magazine) - pp.102-103
4 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's a captivating listen that's proudly individualistic, heart-warmingly intelligent and beautifully intonated..."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.90
4 stars out of 5 -- "THE BONES... is a rare and beautiful thing for a debut: astute, seductive and sly....A bold and encouraging modern pop debut..."


  • 1.The Mother We Share
  • 2.We Sink
  • 3.Gun
  • 4.Tether
  • 5.Lies
  • 6.Under the Tide
  • 7.Recover
  • 8.Night Sky
  • 9.Science / Visions
  • 10.Lungs
  • 11.By the Throat
  • 12.You Caught the Light
  • 13.Recover [Alucard Session]
  • 14.The Mother We Share [Alucard Session]
  • 15.Gun [Alucard Session]

Product Description:

Audio Mixer: Rich Costey.
Recording information: Alucard Studios, Glasgow.
Arriving after a year's worth of anticipation that included plenty of blogger appreciation, several EPs, and inclusion in the BBC's Sound of 2013 shortlist, Chvrches' debut album, The Bones of What You Believe, surpassed the significant hype surrounding it. Many of these songs already appeared on those buzz-building EPs, most notably "The Mother We Share," "Gun," and "Recover," all of which exemplify the Glasgow trio's way with frosty synths and poignant melodies. Within the album's context, though, they reveal a band not nearly as arty or aloof as seemingly like-minded contemporaries. With their ready hooks and fondness for grand gestures, Chvrches bring pop with a capital P back to synth pop. As their early EPs hinted, a large part of their appeal comes from Lauren Mayberry's voice. There's something about her bright, slightly raspy soprano that grabs ears and hearts, even though she spends most of the album telling off those near and dear to her. On "Lungs," she sings "All the things you tell yourself offer no resolution" to a melody so sweet that it just sharpens the sting of her words, and the way she delivers the refrain "I'll be a thorn in your side" on "We Sink" sounds more like a promise than a threat. While keyboardist/vocalist Martin Doherty's lead turns on "Under the Tide" and the dreamy album-closer "You Caught the Light" offer pleasant respites from Mayberry's intensity, his tracks take the band in a direction that sounds more like a synth-driven version of Frightened Rabbit or the Twilight Sad (in fact, Doherty was a touring member of the latter band). Like those bands, as well as their '80s influences, Chvrches embrace big sounds and feelings without a trace of irony, whether it's "Tether"'s massive drums or Mayberry's pleas to "make me blind so I don't ever look back" on the slow-building "Night Sky." This combination of disarming emotional directness and huge melodies makes The Bones of What You Believe a fine introduction to one of the bands who helped shape the sound of the 2010s.~ Heather Phares

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 810599020538
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)