Astor Piazzolla The New Tango (Live)

Get email alerts for Astor Piazzolla
11 ratings
Price: $15.70
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  K84Q

CD Details

  • Released: February 2, 1988
  • Originally Released: 1989
  • Label: Atlantic


  • 1.Milonga Is Coming
  • 2.Vibraphonissimo
  • 3.Little Italy 1930
  • 4.Nuevo Tango
  • 5.Laura's Dream
  • 6.Operation Tango
  • 7.La Muerta Del Angel - (bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel: Gary Burton (vibraphone); Astor Piazzolla (bandoneon); Fernando Suarez Paz (violin); Pablo Ziegler (piano); Horacio Malcicino (guitar); Hector Console (bass).
Recorded live at the Montreux Jazz Festival, Switzerland in July 1986.
This set offers seven compositions by Astor Piazzolla, recorded live with his quintet and guest artist Gary Burton at the Montreux Jazz Festival in Switzerland, 1986. The sonics of the vibraphone, as well as Burton's distinct approach to the instrument, allow it to mingle perfectly with Piazzolla's bandone=n (a type of accordion), while the leader's ensemble of bass, piano, guitar, and violin features players well versed in his music.
These compositions draw on Piazzolla's four decades in music and include a suite written especially for Gary Burton. The drama and romance of this music is undeniable, and it's remarkable that music this compelling was once considered blasphemous by Argentine tango purists. There are many remarkable releases by both Piazzolla and Burton, but THE NEW TANGO stands as a shining example of both artists at the peak of their powers.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 115,183
  • UPC: 075678182327
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)