Sergio Mendes Encanto

Get email alerts for Sergio Mendes
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $24.98
You Save: $20 (80% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  ZDP 3076
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Concord

Entertainment Reviews:

Vibe - p.60
"'s arrangements achieve a colorful cheer on tracks like 'Agua de Beber' and the skittering, Fergie-starring 'The Look of Love'..."
Global Rhythm (Publication) (p.48) - "[T]he whole thing keeps its dominant foot in Brazil and allows for vital chip-ins from such compatriots as Carlinhos Brown and newcomer Vanessa da Mata."


  • 1.The Look Of Love (Featuring – Fergie)
  • 2.Funky Bahia (Featuring – Siedah Garrett, Will.I.Am*)
  • 3.Waters Of March (Featuring – Ledisi)
  • 4.Odo-Ya (Featuring – Carlinhos Brown)
  • 5.Somewhere In The Hills (O Morro Não Tem Vez) (Featuring – Natalie Cole)
  • 6.Lugar Comum (Featuring, Lyrics By – Jovannotti*)
  • 7.Dreamer (Featuring – Herb Alpert, Lani Hall)
  • 8.Morning In Rio
  • 9.Y Vamos Ya (...Let's Go) (Featuring – Juanes)
  • 10.Catavento (Catavento E Girassol) (Featuring – Gracinnha Leporace*)
  • 11.Acode (Featuring – Vanessa Da Mata)
  • 12.Água De Beber (Featuring – Will.I.Am*)
  • 13.Les Eaux De Mars (Waters Of March)(Featuring – Zap Mama)
  • 14.E Vamos Lá (...Let's Go)

Product Description:

Personnel: Sergio Mendes (vocals, piano, Fender Rhodes piano, Clavinet, synthesizer, background vocals); (vocals, rap vocals, drum programming); Gracinha Leporace, Bill Cantos (vocals, background vocals); Lani Hall, Siedah Garrett, Vanessa da Mata (vocals); Paul Jackson, Jr. (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Toninho Horta (guitar, acoustic guitar); Kleber Jorge (acoustic guitar, cavaquinho); Justo Almario (flute); Herb Alpert (trumpet); Till Br”nner (flugelhorn); Joao Donato (Fender Rhodes piano); Mike Shapiro (drums, percussion); Gordinho , Jaguara, Pedro Bernardes, Meia Noite, Jorge Gomes, Ivo Meirelles, Pretinho DaSerrinha (percussion); Cl¢vis Pˆ, Telma Tavares, Angela Sol (background vocals).
Audio Mixer: Bill Schnee.
Recording information: Carlinhos Brown Studio, Salvador, Bahia, Brazil; Henson Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA; House Of Blues Studios, Encino, CA; Las Montanas De Mendellin; Nas Nuvens Studio, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil; Schnee Studio, N. Hollywood, CA; Wild West Studio, Malibu, CA; Will.I.Am Studio, Los Feliz, CA.
Photographer: Randee Saint Nicholas.
Translator: Asdrubal Sierra.
Arrangers: Sergio Mendes;
Though he's always been at the front of the show, Sergio Mendes has often gotten by with the help of his friends. As in 1965, so in 2008. The newest update of Sergio Mendes & Brasil '66 -- feel free to call it Brasil '08 -- has a varied cast, led by co-producer, who adapts his style well to urban and Brazilian forms. It also includes's Black Eyed Peas bandmate Fergie, doing "The Look of Love" in a version that may never reach the heights of the original, but never becomes as embarrassing as "My Humps." Surprisingly, it's a good performance from Fergie; although she never approaches the sultriness of Dusty Springfield's original, her quick-paced singing on the verses is some kind of career highlight. Elsewhere, Mendes deserves most of the credit, especially since only bookends the album (he produces the first two tracks and the last two). Encanto makes room for a parade of excellent musicians, including Carlinhos Brown, Ledisi, Natalie Cole, and Herb Alpert. (Not to be left out is the rhythm section, anchored by bass veterans Alphonso Johnson or Liminha.) The material breezes over quite a few Brazilian classics of the bossa nova era, and gives them just enough freshness to sound new. "Waters of March," with Johnson's nimble bass, makes room for a fine Ledisi vocal (granted, it's difficult to fail on that song). Mendes takes several solos on acoustic piano or Rhodes, best on the Herb Alpert feature "Dreamer." Overall, Encanto is a difficult record to judge; from the cover and the first two tracks, it appears to be urban all the way. The bulk of the album, however, is modern Brazilian jazz-fusion with an array of excellent musicians. Hopefully, its two potential audiences -- dance or hip-hop fans and Latin jazz listeners -- aren't steered away from it by thinking it's only concerned with one or the other. [Universal Jazz also released the CD.] ~ John Bush

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 888072307643
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)