Guitar Shorty The Best of Guitar Shorty

Living Blues: "Shorty retains his finely honed sense of musicianship -- he plays ideas, not just notes, and his sidemen complement him with equally well-realized musicality."
Get email alerts for Guitar Shorty
3 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $12.40 Limited Time Only
List Price: $12.99
You Save: $0.59 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
sku:  36K7G
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 20, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Shout Factory

Entertainment Reviews:

Living Blues - p.76
"Shorty retains his finely honed sense of musicianship -- he plays ideas, not just notes, and his sidemen complement him with equally well-realized musicality."


  • 1.Go Wild!
  • 2.You Better Get Wise to Yourself
  • 3.I Want to Report a Crime
  • 4.Hard to Stay Above the Ground
  • 5.Hard Life
  • 6.I'm So Glad I Met You
  • 7.Maybe She'll Miss Me
  • 8.I'm the Clean Up Man
  • 9.The Bottom Line
  • 10.No Educated Woman
  • 11.I Wonder Who's Sleeping in My Bed
  • 12.Red Hot Mama
  • 13.Mean Husband Blues
  • 14.Hey Joe

Product Description:

Personnel: Guitar Shorty (vocals, guitar); Carol Fran (vocals); Clarence Holliman, Otis Grand (guitar); Ward Smith (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Peter Beck (alto saxophone, tenor saxophone); Mark "Kaz" Kazanoff (tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Ernest Youngblood, Jr. (tenor saxophone); Mike Hobart (baritone saxophone); Jamil Sharif, Keith Winking, Gary Slechta (trumpet); Michael Mordecai, Mark Mullins, Rick Trolsen (trombone); David Torkanowsky (piano, organ, Wurlitzer organ); Dwayne Smith, Riley Osborne (piano, organ); Sammy Berfect, Tony Ashton (organ); Herman V. Ernest III (drums, percussion); Daniel Strittmatter, Danny Pucillo, Shannon Powell (drums); Charles Elam III, Phillip Manuel (background vocals).
Audio Remasterer: Randy Perry .
Liner Note Author: Bill Dahl.
The Best of Guitar Shorty collects key tracks from the Texas guitarist's JSP album, My Way or the Highway (1991), his three albums for Black Top Records, Topsy Turvy (1993), Get Wise to Yourself (1995), and Roll Over, Baby (1998), and his single album from Evidence Records, I Go Wild!, which came out in 2001. In spite of all these different sources, the sequence here feels cut from the same bolt of cloth, thanks in no small part to Shorty's flashy, angular guitar playing, which is a constant on all of these tracks. Known for his dazzling stage show, which is highlighted by all manner of leaps, somersaults, and other assorted guitar-playing gymnastics, Guitar Shorty on disc is a poor substitute, but he still generates tremendous energy on cuts like "Go Wild!," which cycles off from the standard "Gloria" chord pattern; the stomping, buzz-saw pop of "Maybe She'll Miss Me"; and the slow-burning, Jimi Hendrix-like take on "Hey Joe," which ends the set. Rumor has it that Hendrix picked up much of his stage show and perhaps his arrangement of "Hey Joe" in particular from seeing Guitar Shorty playing live -- at least that's how Shorty tells it. He doesn't have the explosive, futuristic vision of Hendrix, but then Hendrix didn't do back flips while playing leads on-stage, either. Or maybe he did. Nobody remembers. Suffice it to say that Guitar Shorty is a guitar player's guitar player, and this collection makes for a nice introduction to his studio style. ~ Steve Leggett

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 41,469
  • UPC: 826663100624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)