Les Paul New Sound, Volumes 1 & 2

New Sound, Volumes 1 & 2
Get email alerts for Les Paul
SALE: $27.99
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZSUR 40275
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Les Paul & Mary Ford created a new sound that is as terrific today as it was when introduced. This collection features that 'new sound' on songs such as "Caravan", "Nola", and "Three Little Words".


  • 1.Brazil
  • 2.Hipbillie Boogie
  • 3.Swiss Woodpecker
  • 4.Caravan
  • 5.Sleep
  • 6.Lady Of Spain
  • 7.Lover
  • 8.The Man On The Flying Trapeze
  • 9.By The Light Of The Silv'ry Moon
  • 10.What Is This Thing Called Love
  • 11.Nola
  • 12.South
  • 13.In The Good Old Summertime
  • 14.Three Little Words
  • 15.Lonesome Road
  • 16.Chicken Reel
  • 17.I'm Confessin'
  • 18.The Carioca
  • 19.I Can't Give You Anything But Love
  • 20.Just One More Chance
  • 21.I'm Forever Blowing Bubbles
  • 22.The Moon Of Manakoora
  • 23.Don't Cha Hear Them Bells
  • 24.La Rosita

Product Description:

Originally released on Capitol.
Adapter: Les Paul.
Liner Note Author: Al Fichera.
Arranger: Les Paul.
Both the NEW SOUND and THE NEW SOUND VOLUME II, recorded in 1950 and 1951, respectively, and brought together here in one set, are billed as releases by Mary Ford and Les Paul. Ford takes something of a backseat on these dates, however, as most are given over to Paul's innovative, multi-tracked instrumentals. In fact, Ford is entirely absent from THE NEW SOUND, which concentrates instead on Paul's experiments with layered guitar sounds and sped-up tape speeds.
Ford does sing on THE NEW SOUND VOLUME II, and her presence is welcome, piling additional charm onto Paul's already charming guitar pop-scapes. Though their most popular songs as a duo were yet to come, these early collaborations contain the seeds of the sound that would bring them success.
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 67,641
  • UPC: 090431278024
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)