The Mojo Men Not Too Old to Start Cryin': The Lost 1966 Masters

Mojo (Publisher): 4 stars out of 5 -- "Here with the pressure off they sound more ebullient, enthusiastic, liberated."
Not Too Old to Start Cryin': The Lost 1966 Masters
Get email alerts for The Mojo Men
4 ratings
Price: $15.40
List Price: $15.99
You Save: $0.59 (4% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  GW94
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 7, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Big Beat UK

Entertainment Reviews:

Mojo (Publisher) - p.118
4 stars out of 5 -- "Here with the pressure off they sound more ebullient, enthusiastic, liberated."


  • 1.Not Too Old To Start Cryin' (Second Version)
  • 2.'Til I Find You
  • 3.Is Our Love Gone (Second Version)
  • 4.Sure Of Your Love
  • 5.Don't Leave Me Crying Like Before
  • 6.You Didn't Even Say Goodbye
  • 7.What Kind Of Man
  • 8.Happiness Is You
  • 9.Look Into My Eyes
  • 10.What's The Answer
  • 11.Free Ride
  • 12.Times Like These
  • 13.Another World
  • 14.Give Me One More Chance
  • 15.Don't Let It Happen To Me
  • 16.Remember Me
  • 17.Oh Lonesome Me
  • 18.Not For Me
  • 19.They May Be Right
  • 20.She Cried
  • 21.I've Had It
  • 22.Is Our Love Gone (First Version)
  • 23.Not Too Old To Start Cryin' (First Version)
  • 24.There Goes My Mind

Product Description:

For a minor mid-'60s San Francisco garage/folk-rock/psych group with very limited national success, the Mojo Men certainly recorded a hell of a lot of material. This compilation contains no less than two dozen previously unreleased 1966 recordings, cut in the uneasy period between when their original label, Autumn, had bit the dust, and they had yet to release tracks with their next company, Reprise. It's no less than the fourth CD of material from the group that's been issued, with no duplication between the discs. For that reason, even some enthusiastic '60s/San Francisco collectors might wonder whether it's only of peripheral, completist-only interest. It's definitely not, however; a little surprisingly, it has much of the best stuff they ever did, with only a few of the songs that would be re-recorded at Reprise. Far more than their earlier, more garage/British Invasion-inclined recordings prior to the entrance of drummer/singer Jan Errico into the lineup, it has a folk-rock/slightly psychedelic feel somewhat akin to the pre-Grace Slick work of Jefferson Airplane. Too, it's nonetheless less precious and slick than their more polished (if occasionally fine), baroque rock-influenced Reprise material. Bittersweet, wistful folk-rock with mild garage and psychedelic tinges (and more than a touch of the Beau Brummels) is the main vibe on this strong set of mostly original material, highlighted by the ones on which Errico's stirring, yearning vocals -- the best qualities she brought into the band from her former outfit, the Vejtables -- are prominent. While some of the tunes are rather run of the mill, the best of them are really good, including the Beau Brummels-style "Is Our Love Gone"; "Not Too Old to Start Cryin'," represented by two versions (and later redone for Reprise); and, above all, "You Didn't Even Say Goodbye," where Errico's singing is a match for Signe Anderson at her best. Even the oddball cover arrangements of "She Cried" (formerly a hit for Jay & the Americans) and the late-'50s Bell Notes rocker "I've Had It" are cool. You could even make an argument for this as the best Mojo Men CD, despite the absence of their only two songs to make appreciable national noise, "Dance with Me" and "Sit Down, I Think I Love You." ~ Richie Unterberger

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 53,036
  • UPC: 029667427920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)