Stan Kenton Sketches On Standards

Sketches On Standards
Get email alerts for Stan Kenton
10 ratings
WINTER SALE: $10.33 Limited Time Only
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $1.65 (14% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
sku:  J8QV
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: April 23, 2002
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Blue Note Records


  • 1.Sophisticated Lady
  • 2.Begin The Beguine
  • 3.Lover Man
  • 4.Pennies From Heaven
  • 5.Over The Rainbow
  • 6.Fascinatin' Rhythm
  • 7.There's A Small Hotel
  • 8.Shadow Waltz
  • 9.Harlem Nocturne
  • 10.Stella By Starlight
  • 11.Dark Eyes
  • 12.Malaguena
  • 13.Spring Is Here
  • 14.I'm Glad There Is You

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Stan Kenton (arranger, piano); Bill Holman (arranger, tenor saxophone); Bill Russo (arranger, trombone); Lennie Niehaus, Johnny Richards (arranger); Lee Konitz, Vinnie Dean (alto saxophone); Richie Kamuca (tenor saxophone); Bob Gioga (baritone saxophone); Conte Candoli, Maynard Ferguson, Buddy Childers, Don Dennis, Ruben McFall (trumpet); Frank Rosolino, Keith Moon (trombone); Sal Salvador (guitar); Don Bagley (bass); Stan Levey (drums).
Recorded at Capitol Studios & Goldwyn Studios, Los Angeles, California between 1953 & 1956. Originally released on Capitol 10" LP (426). Includes liner notes by Michael Sparke.
All tracks have been digitally remastered.
Personnel: Stan Kenton (piano); Ralph Blaze, Sal Salvador (guitar); Vinnie Dean, Lennie Niehaus, Charlie Mariano (alto saxophone); Richie Kamuca, Bill Holman, Bill Perkins, Bob Cooper, Spencer Sinatra (tenor saxophone); Bob Gioga, Jack Nimitz (baritone saxophone); Conte Candoli, Phil Gilbert, Bobby Clark , Don Dennis, Ruban McFall, Don Paladino, Maynard Ferguson, Pete Candoli, Sam Noto, Ed Leddy, Lee Katzman, Buddy Childers (trumpet); Fred Fox , Irving Rosenthal (French horn); Bob Fitzpatrick, Keith Moon , Frank Rosolino, Kent Larsen, Bill Russo, Frank Strong, Carl Fontana (trombone); George Roberts , Norman Bartold, Don Kelly (bass trombone); Jay McAllister (tuba); Mel Lewis, Stan Levey (drums); Allu¡sio Antunes "Lulu" Ferreira, Nestor Amaral, Chico Guerrero, Jack Costanzo, Ren‚ Touzet, Laurindo Almeida (percussion).
Liner Note Author: Michael Sparke.
Recording information: Capitol studios, Los Angeles, CA (01/22/1953-02/08/1956); Goldwyn Studios, Hollywood, CA (01/22/1953-02/08/1956).
Arrangers: Joe Coccia; Johnny Richards ; Lennie Niehaus; Stan Kenton; Bill Russo.
This LP contains six Bill Russo arrangements, five from Stan Kenton, and one by Lennie Niehaus. The repertoire features many songs not associated with Kenton (such as "Sophisticated Lady," "Pennies from Heaven," and "Over the Rainbow"), but the inventive yet melodic treatments certainly sound like the Kenton band. The main soloists are altoist Lee Konitz, guitarist Sal Salvador, trumpeter Conte Canoli, and trombonist Frank Rosolino and, although these concise interpretations (none of the dozen performances is much over three minutes) are not essential, the music is quite pleasing. This collection is a change of pace for the Stan Kenton Orchestra. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 69,844
  • UPC: 724353407025
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)