Duke Ellington Blues In Orbit (Legacy)

Blues In Orbit (Legacy)
Get email alerts for Duke Ellington
11 ratings
SALE: $6.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $1.01 (13% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  SSP 24142
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: February 1, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.Three J's Blues
  • 2.Smada
  • 3.Pie Eye's Blues
  • 4.Sweet & Pungent
  • 5.C Jam Blues
  • 6.In A Mellow Tone
  • 7.Blues In Blueprint
  • 8.The Swingers Get The Blues, Too
  • 9.The Swinger's Jump
  • 10.Blues In Orbit
  • 11.Villes Ville Is The Place, Man
  • 12.Track 360
  • 13.Sentimental Lady
  • 14.Brown Penny
  • 15.Pie Eye's Blues (Alternate Take)
  • 16.Sweet & Pungent (Alternate Take)
  • 17.The Swinger's Jump (Alternate Take)
  • 18.Blues In Orbit (Alternate Take)
  • 19.Track 360 (Alternate Take)

Product Description:

Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Russell Procope (clarinet, alto saxophone); Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (bass clarinet, baritone saxophone); Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Paul Gonsalves (tenor saxophone); Clark Terry, Ray Nance, Shorty Baker, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Matthew Gee (trombone, baritone horn); Quentin Jackson, Johnny Sanders, Booty Wood, Britt Woodman (trombone); Billy Strayhorn (piano); Jimmy Woode (double bass); Jimmy Johnson, Sam Woodyard (drums).
Liner Note Authors: Patricia Willard; Teo Macero.
Blues in Orbit lacks the intellectual cache of the suites and concept pieces that loomed large in Ellington's recordings of this period, but it's an album worth tracking down, if only to hear the band run through a lighter side of its sound -- indeed, it captures the essence of a late-night recording date that was as much a loose jam as a formal studio date, balancing the spontaneity of the former and the technical polish of the latter. Ellington and company were just back from a European tour when the bulk of this album was recorded at one after-midnight session in New York on December 2, 1959 -- the arrangements had to be hastily written out when the copyist failed to appear for the gig. So on the one hand, the band was kicking back with these shorter pieces; on the other, the group was also improvising freely and intensely at various points. The title track, recorded more than a year before most of the rest, is a slow blues that puts Ellington's piano into a call-and-response setting with the horns, with Ellington getting in the last word. "Villes Ville Is the Place, Man" is a bracing, beat-driven jaunt, highlighted by solos featuring Ray Nance, Harry Carney, and Johnny Hodges on trumpet, baritone sax, and alto, respectively. "Three J's Blues" shows off composer Jimmy Hamilton playing some earthy tenor sax in a swinging, exuberant blues setting. "Smada" features Billy Strayhorn on piano and Johnny Hodges on alto, in a stirring dance number, and "Pie Eye's Blues" is a hot studio improvisation featuring Ray Nance and Jimmy Hamilton trading three solos each. ~ Bruce Eder

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 886972414225
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)