Nat Adderley Work Song / Movin' Along

Down Beat: 4 Stars - Very Good - "...warm, fresh and sunny... Montgomery's playing is of the highest order...Recommended strongly..."
Get email alerts for Nat Adderley
Price: $21.70
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD
item number:  6JS9R
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 18, 2011
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Essential Jazz Class

Entertainment Reviews:

Down Beat - 1960
4 Stars - Very Good - "...warm, fresh and sunny... Montgomery's playing is of the highest order...Recommended strongly..."


  • 1.Work Song [4:16]
  • 2.Pretty Memory [3:54]
  • 3.I've Got a Crush on You [2:56]
  • 4.Mean To Me [5:02]
  • 5.Fallout [4:55]
  • 6.Sack of Woe [4:28]
  • 7.My Heart Stood Still [6:26]
  • 8.Violets For Your Furs [3:50]
  • 9.Scrambled Eggs [3:20]
  • 10.Movin' Along [5:40]*
  • 11.Tune - Up [4:29]*
  • 12.I Don't Stand a Ghost of a Chance [5:03]*
  • 13.Sandu [3:27]*
  • 14.Body and Soul [7:20]*
  • 15.So Do It! [6:06]*
  • 16.Says You [5:01]*

Product Description:

Personnel: Nat Adderley (cornet); Sam Jones, Keter Betts (cello, bass); Bobby Timmons (piano); Wes Montgomery (guitar); Percy Heath (bass); Louis Hayes (drums).
Recorded in New York, New York on January 25 & 27, 1960. Originally released on Riverside (1167). Includes liner notes by Orrin Keepnews.
Digitally remastered by Phil De Lancie (1989, Fantasy Studios, Berkeley, California).
Work Song is a near-classic by cornetist Nat Adderley. Adderley utilizes a cornet-cello-guitar front line with Sam Jones and Wes Montgomery, along with a top-notch rhythm section pianist including Bobby Timmons, Percy Heath, or Keter Betts on bass and drummer Louis Hayes. First up is a fine early performance of his greatest hit, "Work Song." He also helps introduce Cannonball Adderley's "Sack O' Woe." Four songs use a smaller group, with Timmons absent on "My Heart Stood Still," which finds Keter Betts on cello and Jones on bass; "Mean to Me" featuring Nat backed by Montgomery, Betts, and Hayes; and two ballads ("I've Got a Crush on You" and "Violets for Your Furs") interpreted by the Adderley-Montgomery-Jones trio. No matter the setting, Nat Adderley is heard throughout in peak form, playing quite lyrically. Highly recommended. ~ Scott Yanow

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 8436028697489
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)