Nina Simone Sings the Blues

Entertainment Weekly: "With its blues-guitar vamps, harmonica wails and Willie Dixon remake, 1967's SINGS THE BLUES lives up to its title."
Get email alerts for Nina Simone
SUPER SAVINGS: $5.40 Limited Time Only
List Price: $6.98
You Save: $1.90 (23% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  637K6
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: January 17, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - p.68
"With its blues-guitar vamps, harmonica wails and Willie Dixon remake, 1967's SINGS THE BLUES lives up to its title."
Q - p.125
4 stars out of 5 -- "This woman was the blues incarnate, her voice a nicotine burr spread across velvet softness."


  • 1.Do I Move You?
  • 2.Day and Night
  • 3.In the Dark [Original Master / Mix] - (remix)
  • 4.Real Real
  • 5.My Man's Gone Now
  • 6.Backlash Blues
  • 7.I Want a Little Sugar in My Bowl
  • 8.Buck
  • 9.Since I Fell for You [Original Master / Mix] - (remix)
  • 10.The House of the Rising Sun
  • 11.Blues for Mama
  • 12.Do I Move You [Version I]
  • 13.Whatever I Am (You Made Me)

Product Description:

Originally released in 1967, SINGS THE BLUES marks the beginning of Nina Simone's tenure on the RCA label. True to its title, the album is steeped in the blues, with Simone's passionate vocals and nuanced piano lines evoking a beautifully bittersweet world of sultry love and inevitable heartache. Backed on many tracks by an ensemble that's intuitive enough to play it loose, Simone settles into a deep groove on songs such as the stirring "Do I Move You?" and the slowburning "In the Dark," while getting lightly funky on "Day and Night." The record's showstopper, however, is a haunting solo rendition of "My Man's Gone Now," one of the most powerful versions of the Gershwin classic ever recorded. A fascinating snapshot of the legendary performer, SINGS THE BLUES is an essential Simone album.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 22,964
  • UPC: 886977115929
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)