Mahalia Jackson Come On Children, Let's Sing / Great Songs of Love And Faith

Get email alerts for Mahalia Jackson
7 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 7633
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Columbia CS 8225 (1960)
  • Original Album #2: Columbia CS 8624 (1962)

Description by

Born in New Orleans, the home of blues and Dixieland music, Mahalia Jackson heard only sacred music at home. Further inspired by the music of Bessie Smith and Ma Rainey, Jackson was to become the greatest gospel singer ever. These two albums, originally released by Columbia in the early 1960s, feature Jackson backed by the Falls-Webb ensemble (on "Come On Children...") and the orchestra and chorus of Johnny Williams (on "Great Songs..."). In 1962, Mahalia Jackson was awarded a Grammy in the Sacred/Inspirational/Religious category for the "Great Songs Of Love And Faith" album.


  • 1.Come On Children, Let's Sing
  • 2.If We Never Neede The Lord Before (We Sure Do Need Him Now)
  • 3.Because His Name Is Jesus
  • 4.You Must Be Born Again
  • 5.Brown Baby
  • 6.The Christian's Testimony
  • 7.Keep A-Movin'
  • 8.A Christian Duty
  • 9.One Step (Toward The Lord)
  • 10.Because
  • 11.Whither Thou Goest
  • 12.Trees
  • 13.My Task
  • 14.My Friend
  • 15.The House I Live In (That's America To Me)
  • 16.Danny Boy
  • 17.The Green Leaves Of Summer
  • 18.I've Done My Work
  • 19.The Rosary
  • 20.Crying In The Chapel
  • 21.A Perfect Day

Product Description:

This compilation collects two of Mahalia Jackson's Columbia albums on a single disc, 1960's Come on Children Let's Sing and 1962's Great Songs of Love and Faith. The former has the Falls-Webb Ensemble backing up Jackson on a set of spirituals, and the sound of the backing choir is cavernous. Jackson's stately, elegant, and measured reading of "Brown Boy" is particularly impressive. The Great Songs of Love and Faith album was recorded with an orchestra and chorus conducted by Johnny Williams, and has a more secular orientation, despite its title. "The Green Leaves of Summer" is the standout here, with Jackson's vocal inflections carrying traces of both remembrance and regret. ~ Steve Leggett

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 7 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
The grestest Singer ever!!!!! Music Lover: from Pauls Valley, OK US -- June, 2, 2004

I have heard these songs many times. Mahalia makes you think that God is with you all the time. She can sing like no other singer in the world. Even though she is no longer with us, her voice continues to live on records. She had a voice that delivers the true meaning of the words to your heart. I can truly say that this is one of Mahalia's greatest albums. If you purchase this product, you won't be disappointed and will cherish it forever!!!! Mahalia, you are the greatest!!!!!

Wonderful Music Lover: from Baltimore, MD US -- May, 24, 2004

I'm so glad to finally see new releases on CD. Yes, some of these titles (from the COME ON CHILDREN, LET'S SING album) have been released already, but it's great to have new ones on disc.

I have purchased this CD, and it is absolutely wonderful- nice sound quality and no fade outs.

My absolute favorites are "Because His Name Is Jesus," "Brown Baby," "The Green Leaves of Summer," and "The House I Live In."

Great buy! Thanx again Oldies!

Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 15,375
  • UPC: 090431763322
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)